Skip to content

Grandpa Across the Ocean

2021

by Hyewon Yum

"Though separated by language, age, and an ocean, a child and grandparent find common ground in this warm, witty picture book Grandpa lives on the other side of the ocean. He takes naps all the time. He eats different foods. He speaks an unfamiliar language. His house is the most boring place on Earth! Or is it? A little time together just might reveal that Grandpa is also a great singer, an energetic sandcastle builder, and a troublemaker . . . just like his grandson! With her signature warmth and humor, award-winning author-illustrator Hyewon Yum shares the challenges and joys of having a relative who lives far away—proving that even from across the ocean, the grandparent-grandchild relationship is a very special one." -- publisher

Race/Culture Concepts

Jenny Mei Is Sad

2021

by Tracy Subisak

"With this educational and entertaining picture book, learn how to approach difficult emotions with compassion and understanding—and be the best friend you can be. Jenny Mei still smiles a lot. She makes everyone laugh. And she still likes blue Popsicles the best. But, her friend knows that Jenny Mei is sad, and does her best to be there to support her. This beautifully illustrated book is perfect for introducing kids to the complexity of sadness, and to show them that the best way to be a good friend, especially to someone sad, is by being there for the fun, the not-fun, and everything in between." -- publisher

Any Child Cross Group

Little Things

2021

by Christian Trimmer and Kaylani Juanita

"One girl’s simple act of kindness causes ripples in her community in this witty, heartwarming story about paying it forward The day after a mighty storm, a little girl finds a sea star that has washed up on shore, and she returns it to the ocean. Seeing her small act of kindness, an old man heads to an animal shelter with his grandson to pick a dog in need of a home. His grandson feels inspired to help an elderly woman clean up her yard, which inspires a teenager to pack an extra lunch for someone in need, and on and on until each small gesture builds toward a magnificent conclusion. Full of humor, heart, and proof of the generosity that we all have inside of us, Christian Trimmer and Kaylani Juanita’s story is a welcome reminder: It’s the little things that make a big difference." -- publisher

Any Child Cross Group

LOVE

2021

by Corrinne Averiss and Kirsti Beautyman

"Tess loves her family, but when she has to leave for the first day of school, she is worried that the love might not stretch that far. An uplifing picture book, bringing comfort to children who are going to school for the first time, have separation anxiety, have lost a close family member, or are dealing with parental divorce. Funny, emotional, and uplifting picture book about separation and love, to help children understand their emotions. Everyone loves everyone in Tess’s house, but when Tess has to leave for school for the very first time, she is worried that her family’s love might not stretch that far. Mom explains that love is like a string, it connects people together even when they are far away. At school Tess notices that all the children have strings! Some are new, some are old, some stretch a long way, and some even stretch right up into the sky. But what happens when a string breaks? Love is the third in a trio of feel-good picture books from author Corrinne Averiss (Joy (2018), Hope (2019)) - a pure delight from start to finish. A wonderful story that subtly tackles difficult topics of death, grief, separation, and overcoming anxiety." -- publisher

Any Child Cross Group

Maya’s Big Scene

2021

by Isabelle Arsenault

"Maya’s imagination sets the stage for her friends to act out her feminist play. Can she make room in her queendom for the will of the people? A funny picture book about leadership and fair play for fans of King Baby and Olivia. Maya is a bossy, burgeoning playwright and loves to have the kids in her Mile End neighborhood bring her scenes to life. Her latest work, about a feminist revolution, is almost ready for public performance. But as her actors begin to express their costume preferences, Maya quickly learns that their visions may not match hers…and as both Director and Queen, Maya demands obedience and loyalty in her queendom of equality! But she soon realizes—with the help of her friends and subjects—that absolute bossiness corrupts absolutely! Series Overview: Each book in the Mile End Kids series focuses on a different child in a group of friends who play together in a city alleyway inspired by Isabelle’s own Montreal neighborhood—an urban Peanuts gang! While the books are linked in terms of setting and characters, each also stands alone." -- publisher

Any Child Cross Group

Sprouting Wings

2021

by Shari Becker, Louisa Jaggar and Floyd Cooper

"The inspirational and true story of James Herman Banning, the first African American pilot to fly across the country, comes to life in this picture book biography perfect for fans of Hidden Figures and Little Leaders. Includes art from a Coretta Scott King award-winning illustrator. James Herman Banning always dreamed of touching the sky. But how could a farm boy from Oklahoma find a plane? And how would he learn to fly it? None of the other pilots looked like him. In a journey that would span 3,300 miles, take twenty-one days, and inspire a nation, James Herman Banning proved that you can’t put barriers on dreams. Louisa Jaggar incorporates over seven years of research, including Banning’s own writings and an interview with the aviator’s great-nephew. She teams up with cowriter Shari Becker and award-winning illustrator Floyd Cooper to capture Banning’s historic flight across the United States." -- publisher

Biography Cross Group

The Librarian’s Stories

2021

by Lucy Falcone and Anna Wilson

"A town is left in ruins after the bombs fall. The beloved library is turned to ash. Home will never feel the same. But then one day, the Librarian appears in the square. Seated on a bench in front of the library ruins, she opens a book and begins to read aloud. The village children stop to listen. "Foolish woman," Papa says. "Too dangerous," Mama agrees, hurrying the children away. Day after day, as she returns to her post, the Librarian’s stories bring comfort to the broken hearts of the people. Little by little, seeds of hope are planted, and the town begins to heal. Inspired by the true story of the Cellist of Sarajevo, a compassionate musician who played his cello for 22 days to honor the deaths of 22 innocent people killed after the bombing of a bakery during the Bosnian war. The Librarian's Stories is a testament to the enduring connection between stories and hope." -- publisher

Cross Group Oppression & Resilience

The Singer and the Scientist

2021

by Lisa Rose and Isabel Muñoz

"A little known story about the friendship between the great singer and the great scientist, Marian Anderson and Albert Einstein, and a lesson that true friendship knows no bounds. It's 1937, and Marian Anderson is one of the most famous singers in America. But after she gives a performance for an all-white audience, she learns that the nearby hotel is closed to African Americans. She doesn't know where she'll stay for the night. Until the famous scientist Albert Einstein invites her to stay at his house. Marian, who endures constant discrimination as a Black performer, learns that Albert faced prejudice as a Jew in Germany. She discovers their shared passion for music—and their shared hopes for a more just world." -- publisher

Biography Cross Group

Tomorrow Girl

2021

by Vikki Conley and Penelope Pratley

"Catch up with a girl called Tomorrow — you better be quick because she’s always in a hurry! "You’ll catch up with the next day if you keep rushing," says Tomorrow’s mother. But when Tomorrow meets worrywart Yesterday and trips over thoughtful Today, her whole world begins to slow down. Tomorrow Girl is a quirky tale delivering a timely reminder about the importance of mindfulness and what can happen when we allow ourselves time to be in the moment amidst a modern-day rush. It’s brimming with wonderful teachable moments for children to reflect on how they can be more mindful in their everyday lives and discover new friendships just by being in the moment." -- publisher

Cross Group Incidental

Many of the cover images on this site are from Google Books.
Using Tiny Framework Log in