Skip to content

For You

2021

by Paula Merlán and Blanca Millán

"This poetic tribute to fathers and mothers follows the journey of one family through the ups and downs of life over many years. A pleasantly colorful celebration of family love. Parents love us, protect us, teach us, help us, and offer a secure, comfortable shelter for us to feel protected. Their love is beyond measure, they are willing to do anything to make us happy. But us children also feel the same way. We can surely perceive when our father feels blue or sense the fatigue our mother tries to hide. If only we could make your worries vanish for good… We would do anything for you. We would eat all the vegetables, without grumbling. We would face up to all our fears. We would magically solve all of your problems. Time may pass, but you are always there to catch us when we fall, and we will make sure be there to hold you when you are down." -- publisher

Any Child

Humble and Kind

2021

by Lori McKenna and Katherine Blackmore

"Award-winning songwriter Lori McKenna's iconic song--as popularized by Tim McGraw--is the perfect basis for a picture book that celebrates family and togetherness. Humble and Kind is a picture book based on Lori McKenna's song, popularized by Tim McGraw. McKenna later recorded the song on her ninth studio album, The Bird and the Rifle. Lovingly illustrated by Katherine Blackmore, this gentle picture book tells the story of a family who is striving to remain humble and kind. We follow the family through their daily lives as they find different ways to lend a hand to each other and to their broader community. Full of touching scenes of familial relationships, Humble and Kind will teach adults and children alike the power of family while introducing them to this beautiful song." -- publisher

Any Child

It Was Supposed to Be Sunny

2021

by Samantha Cotterill

"A perfectly planned birthday party goes awry in this gentle story about adapting to the unexpected, written for kids on the autism spectrum and called “brilliant” and “engaging” by autism specialist Tony Attwood Laila feels like her sparkly sunshine birthday celebration is on the brink of ruin when it starts to storm. Then, just as she starts feeling okay with moving her party indoors, an accident with her cake makes her want to call the whole thing off. But with the help of her mom and a little alone time with her service dog, she knows she can handle this. Changes in routine can be hard for any kid, but especially for kids on the autism spectrum. Samantha Cotterill’s fourth book in the Little Senses series provides gentle guidance along with adorable illustrations to help every kid navigate schedule changes and overwhelming social situations." -- publisher

Any Child Cross Group

Jenny Mei Is Sad

2021

by Tracy Subisak

"With this educational and entertaining picture book, learn how to approach difficult emotions with compassion and understanding—and be the best friend you can be. Jenny Mei still smiles a lot. She makes everyone laugh. And she still likes blue Popsicles the best. But, her friend knows that Jenny Mei is sad, and does her best to be there to support her. This beautifully illustrated book is perfect for introducing kids to the complexity of sadness, and to show them that the best way to be a good friend, especially to someone sad, is by being there for the fun, the not-fun, and everything in between." -- publisher

Any Child Cross Group

Maya’s Big Scene

2021

by Isabelle Arsenault

"Maya’s imagination sets the stage for her friends to act out her feminist play. Can she make room in her queendom for the will of the people? A funny picture book about leadership and fair play for fans of King Baby and Olivia. Maya is a bossy, burgeoning playwright and loves to have the kids in her Mile End neighborhood bring her scenes to life. Her latest work, about a feminist revolution, is almost ready for public performance. But as her actors begin to express their costume preferences, Maya quickly learns that their visions may not match hers…and as both Director and Queen, Maya demands obedience and loyalty in her queendom of equality! But she soon realizes—with the help of her friends and subjects—that absolute bossiness corrupts absolutely! Series Overview: Each book in the Mile End Kids series focuses on a different child in a group of friends who play together in a city alleyway inspired by Isabelle’s own Montreal neighborhood—an urban Peanuts gang! While the books are linked in terms of setting and characters, each also stands alone." -- publisher

Any Child Cross Group

My First Day

2021

by Phung Nguyen Quang and Huynh Kim Lien

"A visually stunning story of resilience and determination by an award-winning new author-illustrator team. This is no ordinary first journey. The rainy season has come to the Mekong Delta, and An, a young Vietnamese boy, sets out alone in a wooden boat wearing a little backpack and armed only with a single oar. On the way, he is confronted by giant crested waves, heavy rainfall and eerie forests where fear takes hold of him. Although daunted by the dark unknown, An realizes that he is not alone and continues to paddle. He knows it will all be worth it when he reaches his destination—one familiar to children all over the world." -- publisher

Beautiful Life

Many of the cover images on this site are from Google Books.
Using Tiny Framework Log in