Skip to content

Kat Hats

2022

by Daniel Pinkwater and Aaron Renier

"A wild picture book starring a world-renowned cat, his trainer, a cast of quirky characters from award-winning creators Daniel Pinkwater and Aaron Renier Thermal Herman 6-7/8 is the top Kat Hat in Matt Katz’s company. A trained cat who is able to form himself into specialty hats, Thermal Herman is world-renowned for his warmth and agility. When a friend wanders off with a brain freeze and finds themself in peril, Thermal Herman must rush in to save the day in this zany and cleverly illustrated picture book, sure to make young readers giggle with every page." -- publisher

Incidental

A Friend Like You

2021

by Charnaie Gordon, Frank Murphy and Kayla Harren

"There's nothing in the world like a wonderful friend. Friends are there to laugh with you and ready with a hug when you need one. There are forever friends and brand new friends. Friends for adventures and friends for cozy days indoors. Friends who are just like you and friends who are nothing like you at all. In this book, celebrate ALL the marvelous ways to be a friend! There's nothing in the world like a wonderful friend. Friends are there to laugh with you and ready with a hug when you need one. There are forever friends and brand new friends. Friends for adventures and friends for cozy days indoors. Friends who are just like you and friends who are nothing like you at all. In this book, celebrate ALL the marvelous ways to be a friend!" -- publisher

Any Child

A Garden to Save the Birds

2021

by Wendy McClure and Beatriz Mayumi

"When a bird flies into their window by accident, Callum and his sister, Emmy, learn that from the outside, the glass looks just like the sky. They also learn that the United States has lost a lot of birds in recent years—and that there are lots of things their family can do to help. First, they set out feeders and make the windows safe. Then, for the winter, they build a little shelter and put out a heated birdbath. By springtime, all kinds of birds are visiting their yard! But with such a big problem, is there more they can do to make a difference?" -- publisher

Any Child Informational

A Kid is a Kid is a Kid

2021

by Sara O'Leary and Qin Leng

"Being the new kid is hard, a child in the school playground tells us. I can think of better things to ask than if I’m a boy or a girl. Another child comes along and says she gets asked why she always has her nose in a book. Someone else gets asked where they come from. One after another, children share the questions they’re tired of being asked again and again — as opposed to what they believe are the most important or interesting things about themselves. As they move around the playground, picking up new friends along the way, there is a feeling of understanding and acceptance among them. And in the end, the new kid comes up with the question they would definitely all like to hear: “Hey kid, want to play?” Sara O’Leary’s thoughtful text and Qin Leng’s expressive illustrations tell a story about children who are all different, all themselves, all just kids." -- publisher

Any Child Cross Group

Adventures with My Daddies

2021

by Gareth Peter and Garry Parsons

"A diverse family embarks on a series of whimsical adventures in this Own Voices bedtime read aloud, perfect for LGBTQ+ and adoptive families! Set off on a series of incredible adventures with an endearing, diverse family as the bedtime stories they read burst into colorful life. Together, the daddies and their little one battle dragons, dodge deadly dinosaurs, zoom to the moon, and explore the world in a hot air balloon, before winding down to sleep in a wonderfully cozy ending. Own voices author and illustrator team Gareth Peter and Garry Parsons deliver an imaginative, heartwarming tale filled with bright, optimistic acrylic and pencil illustrations that celebrate the magic of books and unique family stories as well as the beauty of diverse families." -- publisher

Any Child

All Eyes On Ozzy!

2021

by K-Fai Steele

"A funny and charming picture book about a girl who realizes that there are even better things than getting attention, from the author of A Normal Pig. Ozzy loves attention. And the person she wants it from most of all is her music teacher, Ms. Bomba. So when it’s time to choose an instrument for the school recital, Ozzy picks the biggest, loudest, most attention-grabbing one of all: the DRUMS! It’s hard to stay on beat, though, when all you want to do is stand out. But getting in tune with her classmates—with a little help from her favorite teacher—just might turn out to be even better than a solo in the spotlight." -- publisher

Any Child

Antonia

2021

by Dipacho

"Perfect for fans of Oliver Jeffers and Jon Klassen, this nearly wordless picture book tells a heartwarming and hopeful story of loss and new beginnings as a little girl and her dog, Antonia, journey with their family across a river to start a new life. Like so many people around the world facing difficult times, the little girl and her family in this eye-catching and emotionally satisfying picture book have had to leave their home. The girl has brought along her belongings and her friendly, curious dog, Antonia. While waiting for a boat to take them across a river, she plays with other children who’ve also brought pets—a duck and a bird. But on the other side of the river, Antonia goes missing in the brush. The girl is distraught, until a new friend releases his own pet bird from its cage in an extraordinary gesture of solidarity and freedom. With colorful, whimsical illustrations and an uplifting message of resilience, this US debut from a talented Colombian creator will leave readers with a full heart." -- publisher

Beautiful Life

Arlo Draws an Octopus

2021

by Lori Mortensen

"An empowering picture book about creativity, making mistakes, and changing your perspective When Arlo decides to draw an octopus, he can’t help but think that maybe he’s just not an octopus drawer. His drawing has a head that looks like a hill and eight squiggly arms that look like roads. It’s an octopus disaster-piece! But just as Arlo vows to never draw an octopus again, he makes a discovery that changes his perspective about his drawing . . . and much more. This endearing and relatable story gives readers of all ages a gentle reminder that we’re better than we may think. Sometimes all it takes is a second look." -- publisher

Any Child

Many of the cover images on this site are from Google Books.
Using Tiny Framework Log in