Skip to content

A Little Space for Me

2020

by Jennifer Gray Olson

"A inventive picture book about finding much needed personal space within a crowded, busy world. Sometimes the world is just too much, from a sibling's bedtime snoring and a friend's smelly lunch to the crowded playground so loud you can't even think. Follow the journey of one girl as she sets off to find some space of her own. Gradually, she wants more and more until there is nothing left except space, where she can breathe, dream, rest, and think. Soon, the girl decides to tell her family about why space (and mindfulness) is so important to her, and they all learn to share some space together. With ingenious use of images of the galaxy as a metaphor for personal space, A Little Space for Me is a visually stunning and original story for any child who needs to find place of their own in our great, big world." -- publisher

Any Child

Above the Rim

2020

by Jen Bryant and Frank Morrison

"Winner of 2021 Orbis Pictus Award! The story of Elgin Baylor, basketball icon and civil rights advocate, from an all-star team Hall-of-famer Elgin Baylor was one of basketball’s all-time-greatest players—an innovative athlete, team player, and quiet force for change. One of the first professional African-American players, he inspired others on and off the court. But when traveling for away games, many hotels and restaurants turned Elgin away because he was black. One night, Elgin had enough and staged a one-man protest that captured the attention of the press, the public, and the NBA. Above the Rim is a poetic, exquisitely illustrated telling of the life of an underrecognized athlete and a celebration of standing up for what is right." -- publisher

Biography Oppression & Resilience

All Aboard the Moonlight Train

2020

by Kristyn Crow and Annie Won

"Fans of The Polar Express and Steam Train, Dream Train will be eager to climb aboard this enchanting, rhyming bedtime story that whisks young readers along on a dream-like adventure through a magical world filled with majestic, colorful animals. Can’t sleep? Then hop aboard the Moonlight Train and get ready for a dreamy, nighttime adventure! A toucan will take your ticket, an elephant is your engineer, you can climb the giraffe’s long neck for a look-out, and a lion will tuck you into your sleeping car with a bedtime story. Ready to join us? All aboard! Children and parents will love the clickety-clack rhythm of this enchanting, rhyming bedtime tale that whisks little readers through a magical forest on the most unusual and wondrous train ever. Annie Won’s luminous, captivating art creates a joyous world of beautiful animals that will delight the youngest reader. It’s your ticket to a perfect bedtime read-aloud." -- publisher

Any Child

Amadou’s Zoo

2020

by Rebecca Walsh

"On a school trip to the zoo, Amadou leads his classmates on a wild adventure that blurs the line between imagination and reality in this thoughtful, elegant story. Amadou has waited...and waited...and WAITED for his class trip to the zoo. But when they arrive, his teacher would rather talk about rules and facts. So, Amadou eagerly explores the zoo in his own special way—by allowing his imagination to lead. As more and more classmates follow him into his irresistible world of adventure, the sepia-toned zoo fills with vibrant color. Only one question remains—will Amadou’s teacher follow, too? At once an ode to childlike wonder and patient teachers, Amadou’s Zoo encourages the child and adult reader alike to find connections with the world around them. Based on her own observations at the Ménagerie in Paris, Rebecca Walsh has delicately captured the feel of both an old-fashioned zoo and the modern, diverse class trip taking place within it." -- publisher

Any Child Cross Group

Bedtime for Sweet Creatures

2020

by Nikki Grimes and Elizabeth Zunon

"4 Starred Reviews! Nikki Grimes, Coretta Scott King Award winning author, and illustrator Elizabeth Zunon's latest children's masterpiece creates an imagination-fueled journey to bedtime. It's bedtime, but Mommy's little boy is not sleepy. He growls like a bear, he questions like an owl, he tosses his mane like a lion. He hunts for water like a sly wolf, and hides like a snake. Mommy needs to wrangle her sweet creature in bed so that the whole family can sleep." -- publisher

Any Child

Black is a Rainbow Color

2020

by Angela Joy and Ekua Holmes

"A child reflects on the meaning of being Black in this moving and powerful anthem about a people, a culture, a history, and a legacy that lives on. From the wheels on a bicycle to the robe on Thurgood Marshall's back, Black surrounds our lives. It is a color to simply describe some of our favorite things, but it also evokes a deeper sentiment about the incredible people who helped change the world and a community that continues to grow and survive. Stunningly illustrated by Caldecott Honoree and Coretta Scott King Award winner Ekua Holmes, Black Is a Rainbow Color is a sweeping celebration told through debut author Angela Joy’s rhythmically captivating and unforgettable words." -- publisher

Beautiful Life

Brown Baby Lullaby

2020

by Tameka Fryer. Brown and A. G. Ford

"This #OwnVoices lyrical bedtime picture book is a must-have for every sweet brown baby. From sunset to bedtime, two brown-skinned parents lovingly care for their beautiful brown baby: first, they play outside, then it is time for dinner and a bath, and finally a warm snuggle before bed. With Spanish words sprinkled throughout and featuring warm art by New York Times–bestselling and NAACP-Award–winning illustrator AG Ford, Brown Baby Lullaby is the perfect new baby or baby shower gift." -- publisher

Beautiful Life

Counting Kindness

2020

by Hollis Kurman and Barroux

"A compassionate counting book that captures the power of a welcoming community. Teach children about refugees and how each kindness can help them find a new home. More than half of the world’s refugees are children fleeing scary situations in search of a safe place to live. Arriving in a new place is stressful for newcomers, especially when the newcomers are little ones. But this beautiful counting book helps readers see the journey of finding a new home and the joys of being welcomed into a new community. From playing to sleeping, eating to reading, celebrating to learning, Counting Kindness proves we can lift the heaviest hearts when we come together. Endorsed by Amnesty International." -- publisher

Beautiful Life Oppression & Resilience

David Jumps In

2020

by Alan Woo and Katty Maurey

"It is David's first day at his brand-new school. He doesn't know anyone. At recess, he stands alone and watches the other children enjoying their activities on the playground, from practicing soccer moves and climbing monkey bars to playing hopscotch and daydreaming in the grass. Bundled deep inside David's pocket is a string of rubber bands, knotted and ready for a game of elastic skip. But will anyone want to try that game? he wonders. Will anyone want to play with him? With simple, lyrical free verse, Alan Woo echoes the singsong of schoolyard games to draw readers into the deeper levels of this lovely and poignant picture book story. Exploring the themes of friendship, diversity, belonging and inclusion, the book also celebrates David's self-acceptance and comfort with his own unique identity. With roots in ancient China, David's jump-rope game --- called elastic skip in the story, but known by many different names --- is a symbol for multicultural connections, linking David and his new schoolmates through the sharing of his background." -- publisher

Any Child

Don’t Feed the Coos!

2020

by Jonathan Stutzman and Heather Fox

"An unforgettable, hilarious new picture book about a girl who must escape a flock of insatiable pigeons, perfect for fans of Dragons Love Tacos and Mo Willems's Pigeon series. When you see a coo, you will be tempted to give it a treat. Coos are adorable, peaceful, kind of silly. But DON'T FEED THE COO! If you feed one, they will ALL come . . . So begins Don't the Feed the Coos, a cautionary tale from the duo who brought you Llama Destroys the World. With his signature wit, Jonathan details all of the awful things that will happen should you feed one of the birds. (For example, they will thank you in "coo poos.") And Heather brings the words to life with fun and flair in a slightly-different-but-equally-appealing style to her Llama. Get ready to laugh out loud at this delightful and delirious cautionary tale, be it at storytime or bedtime. These pigeons are persistent!" -- publisher

Any Child

Many of the cover images on this site are from Google Books.
Using Tiny Framework Log in

STAY UP-TO-DATE ABOUT TRENDS IN MULTICULTURAL PICTURE BOOKS!

Sign up for our newsletter and get a FREE

color poster of our unique picture book categories