Skip to content

A Little Space for Me

2020

by Jennifer Gray Olson

"A inventive picture book about finding much needed personal space within a crowded, busy world. Sometimes the world is just too much, from a sibling's bedtime snoring and a friend's smelly lunch to the crowded playground so loud you can't even think. Follow the journey of one girl as she sets off to find some space of her own. Gradually, she wants more and more until there is nothing left except space, where she can breathe, dream, rest, and think. Soon, the girl decides to tell her family about why space (and mindfulness) is so important to her, and they all learn to share some space together. With ingenious use of images of the galaxy as a metaphor for personal space, A Little Space for Me is a visually stunning and original story for any child who needs to find place of their own in our great, big world." -- publisher

Any Child

A Wave of Stars

2020

by Dolores Brown and Sonja Wimmer

"We find magic and emotions in this story written by Dolores Brown and illustrated by Sonja Wimmer. Mimbi and Kipo love who they are: a seal and a turtle. Have you ever heard of the moonbow? It’s a rarely occurring natural phenomenon. Its beauty is otherworldly, but legend says that if animals gaze upon one… they become human! Mimbi the seal and Kipo the turtle live carefree lives in the ocean, playing every day with their friends and listening to old tales the octopus tells at night. But one day… Follow these two friends in this new beautiful and magical legend by the creators behind The Truly Brave Princesses, Dolores Brown and Sonja Wimmer." -- publisher

Any Child Cross Group

Bad Brows

2020

by Jason Carter Eaton and Mike Petrik

"Hilarity ensues when a boy’s eyebrows go rogue in this riotous picture book from the bestselling author of How to Train a Train. One morning, Bernard wakes up to find that his eyebrows have gone rogue. They’re sabotaging Picture Day, taunting his teacher, and growing, growing, growing out of control! All attempts to wrangle these bad brows just seem to make them angrier and more furrow-cious. Why are Bernard’s eyebrows behaving so badly? And what do they want? From Mike Petrik and bestselling author Jason Carter Eaton comes a hilarious romp about everything your face can—and does!—express." -- publisher

Any Child

Cherry Blossom and Paper Planes

2020

by Jef Aerts and Sanne te Loo

"A touching story of resilient friendship and the power of nature from an multi-prize-winning author, with a sprinkling of magic. Adin and Dina are best friends. They live in the beautiful countryside surrounded by cherry trees. Their favorite game is to plant cherry pits around their little village – in the cracks in the sidewalk and in the flowerbeds outside the post office. Then one day Adin and his family move away to the city. Will Adin and Dina's friendship survive the new distance between them? In this beautifully lyrical book, one story fractures into two when the friends are parted. But their lives continue to be linked as Adin finds a way to feel connected to his friend – throwing paper planes filled with cherry pits from the balcony of his apartment building. Held together by their love of cherry blossom and paper planes, Adin and Dina's roads finally lead back to one another. Cherry Blossom and Paper Planes is a touching story of true friendship, resilience, belief – and a little bit of magic – illuminated with stunning artwork full of seasonal detail, light and hope." -- publisher

Any Child Cross Group

Colin Kaepernick

2020

by Blake Hoena and Sam LeDoyen

"This graphic biography shows readers the moments that have defined Colin Kaepernick’s life as a quarterback and an activist. His talent and determination made him a college football success and brought him to the National Football League. As a quarterback for the San Francisco 49ers, he led his team to multiple playoffs and even competed in the Super Bowl. When outrage over violence against African Americans became a national movement, Kaepernick joined the protests. His decision cost him his career in football, but he gained a voice heard worldwide." -- publisher

Biography Cross Group

David Jumps In

2020

by Alan Woo and Katty Maurey

"It is David's first day at his brand-new school. He doesn't know anyone. At recess, he stands alone and watches the other children enjoying their activities on the playground, from practicing soccer moves and climbing monkey bars to playing hopscotch and daydreaming in the grass. Bundled deep inside David's pocket is a string of rubber bands, knotted and ready for a game of elastic skip. But will anyone want to try that game? he wonders. Will anyone want to play with him? With simple, lyrical free verse, Alan Woo echoes the singsong of schoolyard games to draw readers into the deeper levels of this lovely and poignant picture book story. Exploring the themes of friendship, diversity, belonging and inclusion, the book also celebrates David's self-acceptance and comfort with his own unique identity. With roots in ancient China, David's jump-rope game --- called elastic skip in the story, but known by many different names --- is a symbol for multicultural connections, linking David and his new schoolmates through the sharing of his background." -- publisher

Any Child

Don’t Feed the Coos!

2020

by Jonathan Stutzman and Heather Fox

"An unforgettable, hilarious new picture book about a girl who must escape a flock of insatiable pigeons, perfect for fans of Dragons Love Tacos and Mo Willems's Pigeon series. When you see a coo, you will be tempted to give it a treat. Coos are adorable, peaceful, kind of silly. But DON'T FEED THE COO! If you feed one, they will ALL come . . . So begins Don't the Feed the Coos, a cautionary tale from the duo who brought you Llama Destroys the World. With his signature wit, Jonathan details all of the awful things that will happen should you feed one of the birds. (For example, they will thank you in "coo poos.") And Heather brings the words to life with fun and flair in a slightly-different-but-equally-appealing style to her Llama. Get ready to laugh out loud at this delightful and delirious cautionary tale, be it at storytime or bedtime. These pigeons are persistent!" -- publisher

Any Child

Many of the cover images on this site are from Google Books.
Using Tiny Framework Log in

STAY UP-TO-DATE ABOUT TRENDS IN MULTICULTURAL PICTURE BOOKS!

Sign up for our newsletter and get a FREE

color poster of our unique picture book categories