Skip to content

Charlotte Wants a B.F.F.

2021

by Simone E. Morris and Julie Kratz

"Meet Charlotte and Taylor. Like most kids, they have a lot in common, and also a lot of differences. In this charming story about their friendship, they become fast friends. BFF, best friends forever. And they also have challenges as they go through daily life as kids. For parents, caregivers, and educators, this story opens up the door for conversations about differences and how they make us stronger together as friends and allies. It is a story kids and adults will want to read together time and time again." -- publisher

Any Child Cross Group

Grandpa Across the Ocean

2021

by Hyewon Yum

"Though separated by language, age, and an ocean, a child and grandparent find common ground in this warm, witty picture book Grandpa lives on the other side of the ocean. He takes naps all the time. He eats different foods. He speaks an unfamiliar language. His house is the most boring place on Earth! Or is it? A little time together just might reveal that Grandpa is also a great singer, an energetic sandcastle builder, and a troublemaker . . . just like his grandson! With her signature warmth and humor, award-winning author-illustrator Hyewon Yum shares the challenges and joys of having a relative who lives far away—proving that even from across the ocean, the grandparent-grandchild relationship is a very special one." -- publisher

Beautiful Life

Hannah and the Ramadan Gift

2021

by Qasim Rashid and Aaliya Jaleel

"The debut picture book by author and human rights activist Qasim Rashid that celebrates good deeds during the month of Ramadan. It’s the first day of Ramadan and Hannah wants to be a part of this important month every way she can. But if she’s too young to fast, how can she observe Ramadan? By saving the world, Dada Jaan tells her. And so Hannah learns that by helping her friends and neighbors and by showing kindness and generosity, she can make the world a better place. The debut picture book by human rights activist and attorney Qasim Rashid tells a timely story full of warmth and heart about the observance of Ramadan and the power of good deeds." -- publisher

Beautiful Life Cross Group

Little Things

2021

by Christian Trimmer and Kaylani Juanita

"One girl’s simple act of kindness causes ripples in her community in this witty, heartwarming story about paying it forward The day after a mighty storm, a little girl finds a sea star that has washed up on shore, and she returns it to the ocean. Seeing her small act of kindness, an old man heads to an animal shelter with his grandson to pick a dog in need of a home. His grandson feels inspired to help an elderly woman clean up her yard, which inspires a teenager to pack an extra lunch for someone in need, and on and on until each small gesture builds toward a magnificent conclusion. Full of humor, heart, and proof of the generosity that we all have inside of us, Christian Trimmer and Kaylani Juanita’s story is a welcome reminder: It’s the little things that make a big difference." -- publisher

Any Child Cross Group

Maya’s Big Scene

2021

by Isabelle Arsenault

"Maya’s imagination sets the stage for her friends to act out her feminist play. Can she make room in her queendom for the will of the people? A funny picture book about leadership and fair play for fans of King Baby and Olivia. Maya is a bossy, burgeoning playwright and loves to have the kids in her Mile End neighborhood bring her scenes to life. Her latest work, about a feminist revolution, is almost ready for public performance. But as her actors begin to express their costume preferences, Maya quickly learns that their visions may not match hers…and as both Director and Queen, Maya demands obedience and loyalty in her queendom of equality! But she soon realizes—with the help of her friends and subjects—that absolute bossiness corrupts absolutely! Series Overview: Each book in the Mile End Kids series focuses on a different child in a group of friends who play together in a city alleyway inspired by Isabelle’s own Montreal neighborhood—an urban Peanuts gang! While the books are linked in terms of setting and characters, each also stands alone." -- publisher

Any Child Cross Group

Shady Baby

2021

by Gabrielle Union, Dwyane Wade and Tara Nicole Whitaker

"The Boss Baby meets Feminist Baby in NBA superstar, Dwyane Wade’s, and actress and New York Times bestselling author, Gabrielle Union’s first picture book collaboration featuring an in-charge baby character based on their famous baby girl, Kaavia James! Shady Baby is a powerful, funny, and super-cute, character who will help little leaders find their big voices. When Shady Baby gets to the park for a relaxing play session, she finds some not-so-nice kids picking on others. She flashes them a look and teaches them that it’s better to play nice. But when her feelings are hurt, will anyone stand (or crawl) by her side? Find out in this upbeat rhyming picture book that teaches kids to speak their minds and stand up for what they believe in." -- publisher

Any Child Cross Group

The Girl with Big, Big Questions

2021

by Britney Winn Lee and Jacob Souva

"From the author and illustrator of The Boy with Big, Big Feelings comes the delightful story of a curious girl and her relentless quest for answers to questions big and small. These are just some of the questions that bubble forth from one little girl with twinkling eyes and a curious mind. When the girl finds that her big questions make some people uncomfortable, she stops. But then she learns that her questions can solve problems and that asking questions is how we learn and grow. Celebrate the spirit of curiosity and the joy of learning with this lively picture book about a persistent girl and her quest for knowledge. From the author and illustrator of The Boy with Big, Big Feelings." -- publisher

Any Child

The Librarian’s Stories

2021

by Lucy Falcone and Anna Wilson

"A town is left in ruins after the bombs fall. The beloved library is turned to ash. Home will never feel the same. But then one day, the Librarian appears in the square. Seated on a bench in front of the library ruins, she opens a book and begins to read aloud. The village children stop to listen. "Foolish woman," Papa says. "Too dangerous," Mama agrees, hurrying the children away. Day after day, as she returns to her post, the Librarian’s stories bring comfort to the broken hearts of the people. Little by little, seeds of hope are planted, and the town begins to heal. Inspired by the true story of the Cellist of Sarajevo, a compassionate musician who played his cello for 22 days to honor the deaths of 22 innocent people killed after the bombing of a bakery during the Bosnian war. The Librarian's Stories is a testament to the enduring connection between stories and hope." -- publisher

Cross Group Oppression & Resilience

Many of the cover images on this site are from Google Books.
Using Tiny Framework Log in