Skip to content

My Diwali Light

2022

by Raakhee Mirchandani and Supriya Kelkar

"A charming holiday story following one girl’s family as they celebrate their Diwali traditions with the ones they love. Devi loves the Diwali season. It’s a time to wear her favorite red bindi and eat samosas until she bursts! Makemithai and design rangoli with her Papa. And paint diyas with her nani—a reminder to shine her light brightly all year long. This joyful story, with vibrant collage illustrations, follows one girl’s Diwali traditions as her family celebrates their favorite holiday with the ones they love. " -- publisher

Beautiful Life Cross Group

48 Grasshopper Estates

2021

by Sara de Waal and Erika Medina

"A little girl uses imagination and inventiveness to spread friendship through her community. But will she find a friend of her own? Whether it’s a supersonic sandwich maker or a twelve-tailed dragon, Sicily Bridges can make almost anything from materials she finds around her apartment complex. But when it comes to making friends, Sicily has yet to find the perfect fit. With a diverse cast of characters brought to life by illustrator Erika Medina, Sara de Waal’s whimsical debut emphasizes the power of imagination and finding companionship where you least expect it." -- publisher

Any Child Cross Group

Aaron Slater, Illustrator

2021

by Andrea Beaty and David Roberts

"An uplifting story about the power of art, finding your voice, and telling your story even when you’re out of step with your peers from the #1 bestselling creators of Sofia Valdez, Future Prez and Ada Twist, Scientist! Aaron Slater loves listening to stories and dreams of one day writing them himself. But when it comes to reading, the letters just look like squiggles to him, and it soon becomes clear he struggles more than his peers. When his teacher asks each child in the class to write a story, Aaron can’t get a single word down. He is sure his dream of being a storyteller is out of reach . . . until inspiration strikes, and Aaron finds a way to spin a tale in a way that is uniquely his. Printed with a dyslexia-friendly font, Aaron Slater, Illustrator tells the empowering story of a boy with dyslexia who discovers that his learning disability may inform who he is, but it does not define who he is, and that there are many ways to be a gifted communicator." -- publisher

Any Child Cross Group

Alicia Alonso Dances On

2021

by Rose Viña and Gloria Félix

"As a young girl in Cuba, Alicia Alonso practiced ballet in tennis shoes. Within a few years, she was in New York City, with a promising ballet career. But her eyesight began to fail. When Alicia needed surgeries to save her vision, dancing was impossible, but she wouldn't give up her dream. She found the strength and determination to return to the stage and become a prima ballerina. This is the true story of a woman who overcame her challenges, mastered her art, and inspired others to dance and dream." -- publisher

Biography Cross Group

Amara’s Farm

2021

by JaNay Brown-Wood and Samara Hardy

"A young girl searches for pumpkins on her farm in this joyful celebration of cool-weather fruits and vegetables, from the new Where in the Garden? series. Amara is hosting a potluck for friends on her farm, and her snacks won’t be complete without pumpkins. She’s searched and searched, but she's grown so many plants that she needs help finding them. What do we know about pumpkins? They’re large, round, and orange—and, wait a minute, is that a pumpkin? No, that’s an apple. Where, oh, where could those pumpkins be? Author JaNay Brown-Wood uses simple, playful text to guide young readers through Amara’s farm, exploring the unique characteristics of the apples, cauliflower, eggplant, okra, persimmons, and more that grow there. Little gardeners will compare, contrast, and hunt for visual clues that eventually lead to the pumpkins and a fun potluck with Amara, her grandparents, and her diverse group of friends. Artist Samara Hardy brings this multi-layered story to life with vivid, cheerful illustrations created from layers of hand painted ink and watercolor texture. Back matter includes yummy molasses pumpkin bread recipe for little chefs to try. Amara’s Farm is the first entry in the Where in the Garden? series from author JaNay Brown-Wood and illustrator Samara Hardy. Featuring a diverse cast of characters, the books explore gardening and farming during every season of the year. Perfect for early childhood and elementary education units on agriculture, farming, gardening, and healthy eating." -- publisher

Any Child Cross Group Informational

Becoming Vanessa

2021

by Vanessa Brantley-Newton

"Get ready to go back to school with this inclusive, empathetic story that will help kids new to the classroom transform from timid caterpillars into beautiful butterflies who love exactly who they are! On Vanessa’s first day of school, her parents tell her it will be easy to make friends. Vanessa isn’t so sure. She wears her fanciest outfit so her new classmates will notice her right away. They notice, but the attention isn’t what she’d hoped for. As the day goes on, she feels more self-conscious. Her clothes are too bright, her feather boa has way too many feathers, and even her name is too hard to write. The next day, she picks out a plain outfit, and tells her mom that her name is too long. She just wants to blend in, with a simple name like the other girls—why couldn’t her parents have named her Megan or Bella? But when her mother tells her the meaning behind her name, it gives her the confidence she needs to introduce her classmates to the real Vanessa. Perfect for readers of Alma and How She Got Her Name and The King of Kindergarten." -- publisher

Any Child Cross Group

Dolls and Trucks Are For Everyone

2021

by Robb Pearlman and Eda Kaban

"From the author and illustrator team behind Pink Is for Boys comes an empowering read-aloud picture book that teaches kids and adults alike that gender cannot define who you are or want to become. Dolls and trucks are for boys and girls, as are dancing shoes, figure skating and hockey, and many more activities and hobbies. Robb Pearlman and Eda Kaban (Pink Is For Boys) create a celebratory read-aloud book that defies gender stereotypes and encourages the youngest readers to reach for the stars and to follow their dreams no matter what. " -- publisher

Cross Group Incidental

Finding Beauty

2021

by Talitha Shipman

"A message that will inspire girls of all ages to ambitiously find beauty and make beauty wherever they go. You are beautiful from the top of your head to the tip of your toes--but beauty is far more than something you can have. It's also something you have to find. In other people. In nature. In acts of kindness. In math, and art, and music, and sports. In this beautiful inspirational book for girls, author-illustrator Talitha Shipman turns the concept of beauty inside out, transforming girls into beauty-seeking adventurers charging out into the world with confidence and ambition to find beauty and make beauty wherever they go." -- publisher

Any Child Cross Group

Many of the cover images on this site are from Google Books.
Using Tiny Framework Log in