Skip to content

How Do You Stop a Moving Train?: A Physics Book About Forces

2021

by Lucy D. Hayes, Madeline J. Hayes and Srimalie Bassani

"Have you ever wondered how astronauts float in space or how your pizza gets from your plate to your mouth? Basic principles of physics are explored through diagrams, photos, and informative and engaging text in this newest addition to the How Do series. In How Do You Stop a Moving Train?, readers will learn: · The difference between distance and displacement · Formulas for measuring distance, speed, and time · What acceleration is and how to calculate it · How objects move using force and how they stop using friction · Gravitational forces and how they are affected by the size of an object" -- publisher

Incidental Informational

Boxitects

2020

by Kim Smith

"Meg is a brilliant and creative boxitect. She loves impressing her teacher and classmates with what she makes out of boxes. But there’s a new kid at Maker School: Simone. Simone is good at everything, and worst of all, she’s a boxitect too. When the annual Maker Match is held, Meg and Simone are paired as a team but can’t seem to stop arguing. When their extraordinary project turns into a huge disaster, they must find a way to join creative forces, lift each other up, and work together."--publisher

Any Child Cross Group

Child of the Universe

2020

by Ray Jayawardhana and Raúl Colón

"Perfect for fans of The Wonderful Things You Will Be and That’s Me Loving You, this picture book by a renowned astrophysicist is a lyrical meditation on the preciousness of one child and the vastness of the universe. A lyrical meditation on the preciousness of one child and the vastness of the universe, this gorgeously illustrated picture book shares the immensity of a parent’s love along with the message that we are all connected to the broader cosmos in important and intimate ways. A perfect bedtime read-aloud, Child of the Universe is a book to cherish forever. The author is an astrophysicist who has been fascinated by the universe since he was a child. As a parent, he has developed a new appreciation for the deep connections between billions of years of cosmic evolution and this one tiny human." -- publisher

Any Child

From Nylon to Backpacks

2020

by Cari. Meister and Albert Pinilla

"Do you know how all your favorite things are made? This companion series to "Who Made My Lunch?" follows the journey that common household items make from raw materials to the factory and the store. With clear process explanations and charming illustrations, these books answer the question: who made my stuff? A child wonders where backpacks come from and learns about how nylon is made and woven into fabric, where it is sent to a backpack manufacturer. This illustrated narrative nonfiction book includes a map of what areas manufacture nylon, a glossary, and further resources." -- publisher

Incidental Informational

Many of the cover images on this site are from Google Books.
Using Tiny Framework Log in

STAY UP-TO-DATE ABOUT TRENDS IN MULTICULTURAL PICTURE BOOKS!

Sign up for our newsletter and get a FREE

color poster of our unique picture book categories