Skip to content

Search the Collection

Our collection of picture books featuring Black and Indigenous people and People of Color (BIPOC) is available to the public. *Inclusion of a title in the collection DOES NOT EQUAL a recommendation.* Click here for more on book evaluation.


COVID-19 Info: Currently, our collection is only available via Interlibrary Loan (ILL). However, we appreciate your patience as these services are still limited and you may find inactive links to the Bates Library Catalog and MARC record on certain book pages.

Find titles using a keyword search below (e.g. adoption, birthday, holidays, etc.), or by selecting one or a combination of filters on the lefthand sidebar below.

First time here? Start here!

70 matching books

Show Filters
x

Filter Results

Clear filters

Genres

Tribal Affiliation/Homelands

Cross Group Sub

Immigration

Religion

Character Prominence

How the Second Grade Got $8,205.50 to Visit the Statue of Liberty

1992

by Nathan Zimelman and Bill Slavin

"Susan Olson, second-grade treasurer and reporter, here dutifully records the comical details that surround this adventurous tale under the headings, "Expenses" and "Profit." Spurred on by a desire to visit the Statue of Liberty, the class tries to earn money for the trip by collecting paper, running a lemonade stand, sitting babies, walking… Susan Olson, second-grade treasurer and reporter, here dutifully records the comical details that surround this adventurous tale under the headings, "Expenses" and "Profit." Spurred on by a desire to visit the Statue of Liberty, the class tries to earn money for the trip by collecting paper, running a lemonade stand, sitting babies, walking dogs, and selling candy." -- publisher

Cross Group Incidental

Diarou’s Not So Different

2020

by Diarou Bayo, Riley Campbell, Anthony Cooke and Alex Perkins

"Diarou is starting her first week in a new school, in a new country, speaking a new language... and she feels completely alone. She moved to the U.S. from Guinea over the summer and is determined to make friends, but with her limited English, she's having trouble communicating with her classmates. Just when she thinks she might be on her own, she meets another new student who’s struggling too. Can Diarou find a way to connect across language barriers to make a true friend? The authors of this story are part of an innovative program run by Reach Incorporated. Reach develops grade-level readers and capable leaders by preparing teens to serve as tutors and role models for younger students, resulting in improved literacy outcomes for both. Learn more at reachincorporated.org. Books were created in collaboration with Shout Mouse Press. Shout Mouse is a nonprofit writing and publishing house dedicated to amplifying underheard voices. Through writing workshops that lead to professional publication, Shout Mouse empowers writers from marginalized backgrounds to tell their own stories in their own voices and, as published authors, to act as agents of change. Learn more at shoutmousepress.org" -- publisher

Cross Group Race/Culture Concepts

The Homesick Club

2020

by Libby Martinez and Rebecca Gibbon

"When new teacher, Miss Shelby, arrives from Texas, students Mónica and Hannah invite her to join their homesick club where they find ways to make a new place feel like home. Mónica and Hannah are school kids in the big city. Together, they have formed the Homesick Club, since they are both from far away. Mónica misses the family of hummingbirds that she and her grandmother would feed in her backyard in Bolivia every day. Hannah misses the sunshine and the tiny tortoise that lived near her house in Israel. When a new teacher, Miss Shelby, arrives from Texas, the girls discover that she misses her home, too, especially the huge sky full of stars and a Southern treat known as Hummingbird Cake. The girls ask Miss Shelby to join their club, then Mónica decides she will bring a surprise for show and tell — a surprise that brings Miss Shelby close to tears. Author Libby Martinez addresses a theme that many children can relate to — feeling homesick — especially when home is far away. Rebecca Gibbon’s charming illustrations bring an imaginative, light touch to the story." -- publisher

Beautiful Life

I Am Someone Else

2019

by Lee Bennett Hopkins and Chris Hsu

"Celebrated poet Lee Bennett Hopkins shares a diverse collection of poems that ask (with the help of Newbery medalist Lois Lowry, former US Children’s Poet Laureate J. Patrick Lewis, and others), “Who do you want to be?” Kids can imagine pretending and dressing up in this playful poetry collection, flexing their creative muscles and bucking stereotypes. (Who says that girls can’t be knights and boys can’t be mermaids?) Fifteen poets write about who they might like to be, musing what life would be like as a wizard, a firefighter, a video-game inventor, and more. “There is nothing better than being yourself. You are unique and special in every way. Once in a while it might be fun to think about becoming someone (or something!) else. Who would you like to be? Imagine that you’re someone else!” —Lee Bennett Hopkins" -- publisher

Any Child

The 12 Days of Thanksgiving

2018

by Jenna Lettice and Colleen Madden

"Count the 12 days leading up to Thanksgiving with this fun-filled picture book inspired by “The 12 Days of Christmas”—perfect for fans of Natasha Wing’s "The Night Before" series! "On the first day of Thanksiving, I was thankful for . . ." This festive story starts with ONE cozy evening at home with family, then adds TWO sacks of apples, and THREE fall squash, counting up through the twelve days leading to Thanksgiving. Kids will love spotting all the fun ways a family gets ready for Thanksgiving. And the book includes stickers—perfect treats for each of the 12 days." -- publisher

Any Child

The Power of One

2020

by Trudy Ludwig and Mike Curato

"One small act of kindness can change the world. From esteemed bullying expert and author of The Invisible Boy, Trudy Ludwig and Little Elliot illustrator Mike Curato comes a tale as simple—and simply inspiring—as the golden rule. When one child reaches out in friendship to a classmate who seems lonely, she begins a chain reaction of kindness that ripples throughout her school and her community. One kind act begets another, small good deeds make way for bigger ones, and eventually the whole neighborhood comes together to build something much greater than the sum of its parts. From acclaimed bullying expert Trudy Ludwig, The Power of One not only conveys a message of kindness, it offers concrete steps that kids can take to make a difference in their own communities. As Trudy says in the final line of the book: “Acts and words of kindness DO count, and it all starts with ONE.”" -- publisher

Any Child

Dot. Unplugged

2020

by Candlewick Press, Randi Zuckerberg and The Jim Henson Company

"Can Dot and her family make it through a rainy day without any tech? It’s pouring rain, and the power’s gone out at Dot’s house. Should they take it as a challenge to honor the National Day of Unplugging? Playing outside is out of the question, and so is using the many devices Dot is accustomed to. But what might the basement hold? Dot, her friend Hal, Mom, Dad, and Scratch find lots of exciting stuff, including an old spinner game. It turns out it’s super fun to watch Dad do charades, Mom speed-sculpt from clay, Hal tweet-sing a song, and Dot hunt for something surprising. Their improvised game keeps them so entertained, they just might decide to stay unplugged a bit longer!" -- publisher

Any Child Cross Group

Many of the cover images on this site are from Google Books.
Using Tiny Framework Log in