Skip to content

Search the Collection

Our collection of picture books featuring Black and Indigenous people and People of Color (BIPOC) is available to the public. *Inclusion of a title in the collection DOES NOT EQUAL a recommendation.* Click here for more on book evaluation.


Find titles using a keyword search below (e.g. adoption, birthday, holidays, etc.), or by selecting one or a combination of filters on the lefthand sidebar below.

First time here? Start here!

61 matching books

Show Filters
x

Filter Results

Clear filters

Genres

Tribal Affiliation/Homelands

    Cross Group Sub

    Immigration

    Character Prominence

    The shape of home

    2021

    by Rashin Kheiriyeh

    "It's Rashin's first day of school in America! Everything is a different shape than what she's used to: from the foods on her breakfast plate to the letters in the books! And the kids' families are from all over! The new teacher asks each child to imagine the shape of home on a map. Rashin knows right away what she'll say: Iran looks like a cat! What will the other kids say? What about the country YOUR family is originally from? Is it shaped like an apple? A boot? A torch?" -- publisher

    Any Child Cross Group

    Rock by Rock

    2021

    by Jennifer Bradbury and Sam Boughton

    "This luminous picture book tells the fascinating true story of artist Nek Chand and how his secret art project—hidden away in a jungle—became one of India’s most treasured wonders, second only to the Taj Mahal. In the bustle of the busy streets of Chandigarh, India, Nek Chand saw something no one else did. Where others saw rocks and stones, Nek saw the boyhood village he missed so dearly. Where others saw broken plates and glass, Nek saw laughing men. And where others saw trash, Nek saw beauty. Nek Chand’s incredible rock garden, built from stone and scraps and concrete, began as a way for him to express his long-felt grief at having to leave his boyhood village due to the violence caused by the partition of India. What began as a secret and personal (not to mention initially illegal) project became so much more, not only to Nek but to all of India." -- publisher

    Biography

    I Dream of Popo

    2021

    by Livia Blackburne and Julia Kuo

    "A picture book about a young immigrant who stays connected to her grandmother through communication and love. With tender language and striking art, I Dream of Popo follows a young girl as she and her family emigrate from Taiwan to San Diego, leaving behind the narrator's maternal grandmother, Popo. The story touches on learning a new language, acclimating to a new home, and the changing relationship the child maintains with her beloved Popo even when they are apart. Over time, their visits are fleeting, but their love is ever true and strong. This delicate, emotionally rich picture book celebrates a special connection that crosses time zones and oceans as Popo and her granddaughter hold each other in their hearts forever." -- publisher

    Beautiful Life

    Niki Nakayama: A Chef’s Tale in 13 Bites

    2021

    by Debbi Michiko Florence, Jamie Michalak and Yuko Jones

    "Won at auction, this picture book biography tells the story of Niki Nakayama, a powerhouse female Japanese-American chef, and her rise to fame. As a child and adult, Niki faced many naysayers in her pursuit of haute cuisine. Using the structure of a traditional kaiseki meal, the authors playfully detail Niki's hunger for success in thirteen "bites" — from wonton wrappers she used to make pizza as a kid to yuzu-tomatillo sauce in her own upscale Los Angeles Michelin-starred restaurant, n/naka. To anyone who tells her a woman can't be a master chef, Niki lets her food do the talking. And oh, does it talk. Niki was featured on the first season of Netflix's culinary documentary series Chef's Table. And Chrissy Teigen proclaimed that Niki's restaurant is one of her absolute favorites. A smart, strong woman with starpower, Niki is only just getting started -- like the young readers who will devour this book!" -- publisher

    Biography

    Home Is in Between

    2021

    by Mitali Perkins and Lavanya Naidu

    "From National Book Award nominee Mitali Perkins comes a sweet and innovative picture book about a first-generation immigrant child living in America. Shanti and her parents say goodbye to the monsoon rains in their Indian village. They move to a snowy town on the other side of the world. At first, it isn't easy for Shanti to be new. Back and forth she trudges between her family's Bengali traditions and her new country's culture. Again and again, in between. She feasts on biryani rice while kids in town eat hot dogs and PB&J sandwiches. She watches Bollywood movies at home and Hollywood movies with new friends. Is she still Indian? Is she becoming American? How should she define home? In this timely yet timeless picture book, critically-acclaimed author Mitali Perkins uses her own childhood to describe the experience of navigating multiple cultures and embracing the space—the hyphen—in between them." -- publisher

    Beautiful Life Cross Group

    A Story of Hope / Zāntā Tasfā

    2020

    by Worku L. Mulat and Daniel Getahun

    "Captured in Ethiopia and sold into slavery as a child, Malik Ambar travels throughout the Middle East until he arrives in India. Despite a lifetime of adversity and hardship, Malik’s love of language and ideas helps him persevere and inspires him to study military history. Through education, hard work and perseverance, Malik learns to manage his master’s finances and trains legions of African horsemen as a commander in the Indian Army. As a free man, he becomes a respected diplomat and earns his place as a respected figure in Indian history. Written by science writer Dr. Worku L. Mulat and illustrated by Ethiopia-educated Daniel Getahun, the story of the Ethiopian slave boy who grew to be regarded as one of the greatest leaders of central and southern India reminds us how empowering and liberating education can be. " -- publisher

    Beautiful Life Biography Cross Group

    Where Three Oceans Meet

    2021

    by Rajani LaRocca and Archana Sreenivasan

    "A child, mother, and grandmother travel all the way to the end of the earth in this picture book that celebrates multigenerational love—perfect for fans of Drawn Together and Alma. Sejal, Mommy, and Pati travel together to the southern tip of India. Along the way, they share meals, visit markets, and catch up with old friends. For Pati, the trip retraces spaces she knows well. For Mommy, it’s a return to the place she grew up. For Sejal, it’s a discovery of new sights and sounds. The family finds their way to Kanyakumari, where three oceans meet, and delight in making it to the end of the earth together. This own voices picture book celebrates the beauty of India and the enduring love of family." -- publisher

    Beautiful Life

    The Doll

    2021

    by Nhung N. Tran-Davies and Ravy Puth

    "Two little girls come to North America as refugees, a generation apart, and both are welcomed with the gift of a doll. A young girl and her family arrive in an airport in a new country. They are refugees, migrants who have travelled across the world to find safety. Strangers greet them, and one of them gives the little girl a doll. Decades later, that little girl is grown up and she has the chance to welcome a group of refugees who are newly arrived in her adopted country. To the youngest of them, a little girl, she gives a doll, knowing it will help make her feel welcome. Inspired by real events." -- publisher

    Beautiful Life Cross Group

    The Girl in the Gold Dress

    2021

    by Christine Paik and Jung Lin Park

    "Hannah’s Korean name literally means “Gold Dress,” so why doesn’t she want to be seen wearing her gold hanbok dress? 10-year-old Hannah is facing a big performance for her school’s talent show. The trouble is, she’s ashamed of her dress, the dance, even the music - they’re too different, too Korean! What if everyone makes fun of her? Will Hannah be brave enough to perform, or will she run off stage like she did at rehearsal? First, she must learn about the gold dress she’s wearing and its mysterious connection to her name and her family’s past in Korea: starting with a desperate escape from war and a secret wish hidden for decades in an envelope. Can Hannah make that wish finally come true? In this touching children’s story that spans four generations, a Korean American girl overcomes her embarrassment of her heritage to step forward with pride and share her culture with others." -- publisher

    Beautiful Life

    From the Tops of the Trees

    2021

    by Kao Kalia Yang and Rachel Wada

    "A moving and inspiring true story about how a father's love helped a daughter dream of a life beyond the confines of the refugee camp where they live Young Kalia has never known life beyond the fences of the Ban Vinai Refugee Camp. The Thai camp holds many thousands of Hmong families who fled in the aftermath of the little-known Secret War in Laos that was waged during America's Vietnam War. For Kalia and her cousins, life isn't always easy, but they still find ways to play, racing with chickens and riding a beloved pet dog. Just four years old, Kalia is still figuring out her place in the world. When she asks what is beyond the fence, at first her father has no answers for her. But on the following day, he leads her to the tallest tree in the camp and, secure in her father's arms, Kalia sees the spread of a world beyond. Kao Kalia Yang's sensitive prose and Rachel Wada's evocative illustrations bring to life this tender true story of the love between a father and a daughter." -- publisher

    Beautiful Life

    Many of the cover images on this site are from Google Books.
    Using Tiny Framework Log in