Skip to content

Search the Collection

Our collection of picture books featuring Black and Indigenous people and People of Color (BIPOC) is available to the public. *Inclusion of a title in the collection DOES NOT EQUAL a recommendation.* Click here for more on book evaluation.


Find titles using a keyword search below (e.g. adoption, birthday, holidays, etc.), or by selecting one or a combination of filters on the lefthand sidebar below.

First time here? Start here!

120 matching books

Show Filters
x

Filter Results

Clear filters

Genres

Tribal Affiliation/Homelands

Cross Group Sub

Immigration

Religion

Character Prominence

The Collectors

2021

by Alice Feagan

"Nature lovers and collectors of all kinds will love this high-adventure quest story about two brave and clever girls who head into the forest in search of something extraordinary.Winslow and Rosie have been building an impressive collection of natural wonders, and now it's nearly complete. With just enough space left for one final piece, the girls set off into the forest to find something extraordinary. Their journey takes them far --- along the creek, across the valley, through the spruce grove and up the mountain. And while they find many extraordinary things, nothing is just the right extraordinary thing. When the girls find a deep, dark cave, they decide to venture farther than ever before. Surely, a mysterious cave must hold something extraordinary ...Bestselling creator Alice Feagan's distinct cut-paper collage artwork brings this fun quest story to life and packs it with learning opportunities. The story highlights that girls can be adventurous, brave, clever and fascinated by science, and also that the natural world is a wondrous place to explore. From the detailed depictions of the girls' gear to the many portrayals of their extraordinary finds (a gemstone, dinosaur fossils, a rare woodpecker's feather), there are numerous STEM curriculum applications here. The story also offers excellent character education lessons in perseverance, resilience and teamwork." -- publisher

Any Child Cross Group

Game of Pharaohs

2019

by Dameona Hewlett, Camal Shorter, Japan Spells and Anthony White

"Camal, Japan, and Dameona are good kids, but struggling students. They’ve decided homework is pointless, and they’d rather just play their video game. One night when the kids refuse to stop playing, they are sucked into the world of The Pharaohs, where now they must complete challenges in their weakest subjects in school to make it out. Characters (and readers!) must solve hieroglyphic word puzzles, find their way through science-related mazes, and complete math mysteries on their path to earning their Pharaoh crowns and returning to the real world. Can they challenge themselves and learn to ask for help in time to make it out of the game? The authors of this story are part of an innovative program run by Reach Incorporated. Reach develops grade-level readers and capable leaders by preparing teens to serve as tutors and role models for younger students, resulting in improved literacy outcomes for both. Learn more at reachincorporated.org. Books were created in collaboration with Shout Mouse Press. Shout Mouse is a nonprofit writing program and publishing house for under-heard voices. Through writing workshops that lead to professional publication, Shout Mouse coaches writers from marginalized backgrounds to tell their own stories in their own voices and, as published authors, to act as agents of change. Learn more at shoutmousepress.org" -- publisher

Any Child

Seven Golden Rings

2020

by Rajani LaRocca and Archana Sreenivasan

"In this clever, convivial picture book, an Indian boy untangles a mathematical conundrum to win a place at the Rajah's court. In ancient India, a boy named Bhagat travels to the Rajah's city, hoping to ensure his family's prosperity by winning a place at court as a singer. Bhagat carries his family's entire fortune--a single coin and a chain of seven golden rings--to pay for his lodging. But when the innkeeper demands one ring per night, and every link snipped costs one coin, how can Bhagat both break the chain and avoid overpaying? His inventive solution points the way to an unexpected triumph, and offers readers a friendly lesson in binary numbers--the root of all computing. In this clever, convivial picture book, an Indian boy untangles a mathematical conundrum to win a place at the Rajah's court. Book Link's Lasting Connection 2020 Title." -- publisher

Any Child Informational

Perceptive PJ

2018

by Jacqueline Sanders-Blackman and Zeeshan Shahid

"This is part two of a series of books about the Maker Family. The STE(A)M inspired theme for this book is Math. Perceptive PJ, an 8 year old boy that is inspired by his family history of being world class athletic competitors and winners. Perceptive PJ interviews each of his family members and comes up with a winning formula but his intention is to apply it to being a Mathlete (Math-Athlete) and to be a participant in the Math Olympic Competition. His journey will expose young readers to traditional and some very non-traditional sports so that young people will keep an open mind to all types of competition. The similarities of the Maker Family and my real life childhood experience and upbringing aren’t an accident. Growing up we had a strong sense of our family legacy of defying limitations, stereotypes and even other people of color who had limited expectations of who we should be and what we are capable of achieving. Read All About it! Remember Readers Make Leaders." -- publisher

Any Child

My Autumn Book

2015

by Wong Herbert Yee

"One little girl explores her surroundings, sensing that autumn is on its way in this final book in Wong Herbert Yee's seasonal quartet. Crisp air and gray skies beckon a little girl to thoroughly investigate the outside world: chipmunks, squirrels, insects, and fallen leaves all hint that a change of season is coming. Young readers can explore the signs of autumn along with the adventurous child narrator in this charming conclusion to the series on the seasons. A Christy Ottaviano Book" -- publisher

Any Child

Astro Girl

2019

by Ken. Wilson-Max

"The stars are the limit for a little girl who acts out her wish to be an astronaut — inspired by a very special person. Astrid has loved the stars and space for as long as she can remember. “I want to be an astronaut!” she says to everyone who will listen. While her mama is away, Astrid and her papa have fun acting out the challenges an astronaut faces on a space mission — like being in zero gravity (“I can do that all day long!” she says), eating food from a kind of tube, and doing science experiments with the help of cookie sheets. When at last it’s time to meet Mama at the air base, Astrid wears her favorite space T-shirt to greet her. But where exactly has Mama been? Channeling a sense of childlike delight, Ken Wilson-Max brings space travel up close for young readers and offers an inspiring ending." -- publisher

Any Child Cross Group

Rocket Says Look Up!

2019

by Nathan Bryon and Dapo Adeola

"Meet Rocket--a plucky aspiring astronaut intent on getting her community to LOOK UP! from what they're doing and reach for the stars in this auspicious debut picture book. Honored as a Chicago Public Library 2019 Best of the Best Book! A comet will be visible tonight, and Rocket wants everyone to see it with her--even her big brother, Jamal, whose attention is usually trained on his phone or video games. Rocket's enthusiasm brings neighbors and family together to witness a once-in-a-lifetime sighting. Perfect for fans of Ada Twist, Scientist and Cece Loves Science--Rocket Says Look Up! will inspire readers of all ages to dream big as it models Rocket's passion for science and infectious curiosity. Author Nathan Bryon, an actor and screenwriter, and Dapo Adeola, a community-minded freelance illustrator, bring their fresh talents, passion, and enthusiasm to the picture book medium." -- publisher

Any Child

Lia & Luis: Who Has More?

2020

by Ana Crespo and Giovana Medeiros

"Celebrate diversity, math, and the power of storytelling! Twins Lia and Luís argue over who has more of their favorite snacks. Can the siblings use math—and a little sharing—to pick the winner? A playful exploration of measurement, counting, and estimation, featuring Brazilian American characters and a glossary of Brazilian Portuguese words. Storytelling Math celebrates children using math in their daily adventures as they play, build, and discover the world around them. Joyful stories and hands-on activities make it easy for kids and their grown-ups to explore everyday math together. Developed in collaboration with math experts at STEM education nonprofit TERC, under a grant from the Heising-Simons Foundation." -- publisher

Any Child

Many of the cover images on this site are from Google Books.
Using Tiny Framework Log in