Skip to content

Search the Collection

Our collection of picture books featuring Black and Indigenous people and People of Color (BIPOC) is available to the public. *Inclusion of a title in the collection DOES NOT EQUAL a recommendation.* Click here for more on book evaluation.


COVID-19 Info: Currently, our collection is only available via Interlibrary Loan (ILL). However, we appreciate your patience as these services are still limited and you may find inactive links to the Bates Library Catalog and MARC record on certain book pages.

Find titles using a keyword search below (e.g. adoption, birthday, holidays, etc.), or by selecting one or a combination of filters on the lefthand sidebar below.

First time here? Start here!

43 matching books

Show Filters
x

Filter Results

Clear filters

Genres

Tribal Affiliation/Homelands

Cross Group Sub

Immigration

Character Prominence

No Voice Too Small

2020

by Jeanette Bradley, Keila V. Dawson and Lindsay H. Metcalf

"Fans of We Rise, We Resist, We Raise Our Voices will love meeting fourteen young activists who have stepped up to make change in their community and the United States. Mari Copeny demanded clean water in Flint. Jazz Jennings insisted, as a transgirl, on playing soccer with the girls’ team. From Viridiana Sanchez Santos’s quinceañera demonstration against anti-immigrant policy to Zach Wahls’s moving declaration that his two moms and he were a family like any other, No Voice Too Small celebrates the young people who know how to be the change they seek. Fourteen poems honor these young activists. Featuring poems by Lesléa Newman, Traci Sorell, and Nikki Grimes. Additional text goes into detail about each youth activist’s life and how readers can get involved." -- publisher

Biography Incidental

G My Name Is Girl

2021

by Dawn Masi

"Skip right into this joyful, diverse, alphabetic picture book celebrating girls around the world. Girls from 26 different countries—Argentina to Zambia—are beautifully and thoughtfully represented in this A to Z tribute to global girlhood. Children will enjoy reading about each girl’s name, empowering chracter trait, and country, while learning how we are all connected. Globally-minded kids can also find the countries on a map at the back of the book and dream of places they’d like to visit." -- publisher

Incidental

Like a Girl

2019

by Lori Degman and Mara Penny

"Create, prevail, change the world . . . like a GIRL! This celebration of international girl power honors a multitude of women who made a difference. Once upon a time, “like a girl” was considered an insult. Not anymore! In art, aviation, politics, sports, every walk of life, girls are demonstrating their creativity, perseverance, and strength. From civil rights activist Rosa Parks, who stood up for her beliefs by staying seated, to astronaut Sally Ride, who soared to the skies, the 24 women profiled here took risks, acted up, broke barriers, and transformed the world. With its simple yet powerful text, this book will inspire young women everywhere. Subjects include: Rosa Parks * Mother Teresa * Malala Yousafzai * Ruby Bridges * Helen Keller * Tammy Duckworth * Wilma Rudolph * Temple Grandin * Frida Kahlo * Zaha Hadid * R.J. Palacio * Maya Angelou * Amelia Earhart * Bessie Coleman * Sally Ride * Mae Carol Jemison * Simone Biles * Gail Devers * Babe Didrikson Zaharias * Gertrude Ederle * Jane Addams * Irena Sendler * Wangari Maathal * Harriet Tubman" -- publisher

Biography Incidental

Just Like Me

2020

by Vanessa Brantley-Newton

"An ode to the girl with scrapes on her knees and flowers in her hair, and every girl in between, this exquisite treasury will appeal to readers of Dear Girl and I Am Enough and have kids poring over it to find a poem that’s just for them. From Vanessa Brantley-Newton, the author of Grandma’s Purse, comes a collection of poetry filled with engaging mini-stories about girls of all kinds: girls who feel happy, sad, scared, powerful; girls who love their bodies and girls who don’t; country girls, city girls; girls who love their mother and girls who wish they had a father. With bright portraits in Vanessa’s signature style of vibrant colors and unique patterns and fabrics, this book invites readers to find themselves and each other within its pages." -- publisher

Incidental Race/Culture Concepts

Happy Hair

2019

by Mechal Renee Roe

"Girls with natural black hair are celebrated in this bright, joyful read-together book that will have kids everywhere chanting the book’s chorus: “I love being me!” Full ’fro, cute bow! I love being me! Smart girl, cool curls! I love being me! Girls will love seeing strong, happy reflections of themselves in this vibrant, rhythmic picture book celebrating the diversity of beautiful black hair. From a cute crop to pom-pom puffs, adorable illustrations of girls with gorgeous braids, blowouts, and bantus grace each page, side by side with a positive message that will make girls cheer. It’s a great read-aloud to promote self-esteem for girls of all ages, building and growing the foundation of self-love (and hair love!) and letting every girl know “You are made beautiful!”" -- publisher

Beautiful Life

The Nature Girls

2019

by Aki

"From the author-illustrator of The Weather Girls comes a new picture book starring an adorable troupe of girls exploring different biomes—the ocean, the desert, the tundra, the grasslands, the forest—and meeting all the cute animals that inhabit them. We're Nature Girls! We must explore. We pack our bags, we're out the door . . . Ocean, desert, tundra, grassland, forest—the Nature Girls are ready for whatever the environment might bring! Follow these busy girls as they explore different biomes—swimming with dolphins, riding a camel, mushing sled dogs. Charming rhyming verse and adorable art make this picture book irresistible—and perfect for sharing!" -- publisher

Cross Group Incidental Informational

A is for Audra: Broadway’s Leading Ladies from A to Z

2019

by John Robert Allman and Peter Emmerich

"From Audra McDonald to Liza with a “Z,” here is a showstopping alphabet book featuring your favorite leading ladies of the Broadway stage! Step into the spotlight and celebrate a cavalcade of Broadway’s legendary ladies. Start with “A” for six-time Tony Award winner Audra McDonald, then sing and dance your way through the alphabet with beloved entertainers like Patti LuPone, Bernadette Peters, Chita Rivera, Lea Salonga, Kristin Chenoweth, Kelli O’Hara, and Liza Minnelli! Broadway fans and theater lovers everywhere will give a standing ovation to this one-of-a-kind tribute full of toe-tapping rhymes, with illustrations as bright and beautiful as the shining lights on any marquee." -- publisher

Incidental

The International Day of the Girl

by Rona Ambrose, Jessica Dee Humphreys and Simone Shin

"This introduction to the International Day of the Girl and its worldwide significance encourages children to recognize their own potential to make change, providing both a perfect lesson in social justice and a celebration of girl power. The United Nations designated October 11th as the International Day of the Girl, a day to increase awareness of problems that affect girls --- and only girls --- around the world and to encourage progress toward gender equality. Nine stories inspired by the real-life experiences of girls from all over the globe bring to light the importance of this day. Each story is set in a different country and sensitively describes an inequity faced by a character and how she addressed it. The challenges include gender-based violence, illiteracy, lack of access to technology, sanitation, nutritional disparity and child marriage. Each story features a positive description of the main character --- strong, smart, creative, inventive, brave, talented, caring, funny, ambitious --- and each concludes with a realistic yet hopeful outcome, presenting the girls as more than victims of their circumstances. Their powerful, and empowering, experiences will stir the activist in every child. Jessica Dee Humphreys's well-researched and illuminating stories are both readable and age appropriate. Award-winning Simone Shin's simple, warm illustrations bring the characters and their circumstances to life. Sidebars expand on the issues covered in each story. This book is a perfect choice for social justice discussions, as well as for social studies lessons on global communities, and for character education conversations on citizenship. It includes a foreword by the Honorable Rona Ambrose, who led Canada's call for the day to be formally adopted by the United Nations. Also included are an annotated time line of the day's creation and additional statistical information. A portion of the proceeds will go to Plan International Canada." -- publisher

Informational Oppression & Resilience Race/Culture Concepts

Many of the cover images on this site are from Google Books.
Using Tiny Framework Log in