Skip to content

Search the Collection

Our collection of picture books featuring Black and Indigenous people and People of Color (BIPOC) is available to the public. *Inclusion of a title in the collection DOES NOT EQUAL a recommendation.* Click here for more on book evaluation.


COVID-19 Info: Currently, our collection is only available via Interlibrary Loan (ILL). However, we appreciate your patience as these services are still limited and you may find inactive links to the Bates Library Catalog and MARC record on certain book pages.

Find titles using a keyword search below (e.g. adoption, birthday, holidays, etc.), or by selecting one or a combination of filters on the lefthand sidebar below.

First time here? Start here!

118 matching books

Show Filters
x

Filter Results

Clear filters

Genres

Tribal Affiliation/Homelands

Cross Group Sub

Immigration

Portrait of an Artist: Frida Kahlo

2019

by Lucy Brownridge and Sandra Dieckmann

"Frida Kahlo was a Mexican painter and today is one of the world's favourite artists. As a child, she was badly affected by polio, and later suffered a terrible accident that left her disabled and in pain. Shortly after this accident, Kahlo took up painting, and through her surreal, symbolic self portraits described the pain she suffered, as well as the treatment of women, and her sadness at not being able to have a child. This book tells the story of Frida Kahlo's life through her own artworks, and shows how she came to create some of the most famous paintings in the world. Learn about her difficult childhood, her love affair with fellow painter Diego Rivera, and the lasting impact her surreal work had on the history of art in this book that brings her life to work." -- publisher

Biography

Tabitha and Magoo dress up too

2020

by Michelle Tea and Ellis van der Does

"Tabitha and Magoo love to play dress up in their room. Tabitha uses her brother’s shirts to make superhero capes, and Magoo uses his sister’s frilly skirts to fashion a gown. They’re disappointed to think they can’t go outside in their new outfits, but then the gorgeous drag queen Morgana magically appears! With the help of their new friend, they learn to defy restrictive gender roles and celebrate being themselves. The trio, dressed in colorful costumes and riding in a flying car, then heads to the local library for a diverse and fun-filled story time." -- publisher

Any Child

The GayBCs

2019

by M.L. Webb

"A playdate extravaganza transforms into a celebration of friendship, love, and identity as four friends sashay out of all the closets, dress up in a wardrobe fit for kings and queens, and discover the wonder of imagination. From A is for Ally to F is for Family to Q is for Queer, debut author/illustrator M. L. Webb’s bright illustrations and lively, inclusive poems delight in the beauty of embracing one’s truest self. A glossary in the back offers opportunity for further discussion of terms and identities. The GayBCs is perfect for fans of A Is for Activist and Feminist Baby—showing kids and adults alike that every identity is worthy of being celebrated." -- publisher

Incidental

Queen of physics

2019

by Teresa Robeson and Rebecca Huang

"When Wu Chien Shiung was born in China 100 years ago, most girls did not attend school; no one considered them as smart as boys. But her parents felt differently. Giving her a name meaning “Courageous Hero,” they encouraged her love of learning and science. This engaging biography follows Wu Chien Shiung as she battles sexism and racism to become what Newsweek magazine called the “Queen of Physics” for her work on beta decay. Along the way, she earned the admiration of famous scientists like Enrico Fermi and Robert Oppenheimer and became the first woman hired as an instructor by Princeton University, the first woman elected President of the American Physical Society, the first scientist to have an asteroid named after her when she was still alive, and many other honors." -- publisher

Biography Oppression & Resilience

Police in our school

2016

by Becky Coyle and Juan Bautista Juan Oliver

"When Ben and his friends see a new face at school, they aren't quite sure how to react. Ben thinks it means big trouble, but he quickly learns that sometimes things aren't always what the seem. Follow along as three friends learn about their new School Resource Officer and the role she plays in keeping students safe while they learn and play."--Back cover "A School Resource Officer has a diverse role in the school community and has many duties and responsibilities. This book teaches kids about the important role their school resource officers play to protect them and their school. Becky Coyle learned firsthand how children can misunderstand officer's roles in schools through her work as an elementary school resource officer. It inspired her to create this School Safety series to explain school safety concepts to young children in a fun and engaging way."--Amazon

Any Child

Many of the cover images on this site are from Google Books.
Using Tiny Framework Log in

STAY UP-TO-DATE ABOUT TRENDS IN MULTICULTURAL PICTURE BOOKS!

Sign up for our newsletter and get a FREE

color poster of our unique picture book categories