Skip to content

Search the Collection

Our collection of picture books featuring Black and Indigenous people and People of Color (BIPOC) is available to the public. *Inclusion of a title in the collection DOES NOT EQUAL a recommendation.* Click here for more on book evaluation.


Find titles using a keyword search below (e.g. adoption, birthday, holidays, etc.), or by selecting one or a combination of filters on the lefthand sidebar below.

First time here? Start here!

2 matching books

Show Filters
x

Filter Results

Clear filters

Categories

Ethnicity

Awards

    Content

    Genres

    Tribal Affiliation/Homelands

      Cross Group Sub

        Immigration

        Religion

        Character Prominence

        Adriana’s Angels

        2017

        by Ruth Goring and Erika Meza

        "Two angels, Milagros (Miracles) and Alegria (Joy), wield their protective power surreptitiously and sometimes with a hint of humor, listening constantly for God's direction as they watch over a little girl who with her family is forced to flee their home in Colombia and start a new life in Chicago. Throughout difficult times, big transitions, and the ordinary moments of childhood, Adriana's angels whisper messages of God's love and presence. Adriana's Angels is available in both English and in Spanish as Los angeles de Adriana. ?Los angeles de Adriana (the Spanish version of Adriana's Angels) is a 2017 Moonbeam Children's Book Awards winner, a contest intended to bring increased recognition to exemplary children's books and their creators, and to support childhood literacy and life-long reading." -- publisher

        Beautiful Life

        Antonia

        2021

        by Dipacho

        "Perfect for fans of Oliver Jeffers and Jon Klassen, this nearly wordless picture book tells a heartwarming and hopeful story of loss and new beginnings as a little girl and her dog, Antonia, journey with their family across a river to start a new life. Like so many people around the world facing difficult times, the little girl and her family in this eye-catching and emotionally satisfying picture book have had to leave their home. The girl has brought along her belongings and her friendly, curious dog, Antonia. While waiting for a boat to take them across a river, she plays with other children who’ve also brought pets—a duck and a bird. But on the other side of the river, Antonia goes missing in the brush. The girl is distraught, until a new friend releases his own pet bird from its cage in an extraordinary gesture of solidarity and freedom. With colorful, whimsical illustrations and an uplifting message of resilience, this US debut from a talented Colombian creator will leave readers with a full heart." -- publisher

        Beautiful Life

        Many of the cover images on this site are from Google Books.
        Using Tiny Framework Log in