Skip to content

Search the Collection

Our collection of picture books featuring Black and Indigenous people and People of Color (BIPOC) is available to the public. *Inclusion of a title in the collection DOES NOT EQUAL a recommendation.* Click here for more on book evaluation.


Find titles using a keyword search below (e.g. adoption, birthday, holidays, etc.), or by selecting one or a combination of filters on the lefthand sidebar below.

First time here? Start here!

434 matching books

Show Filters
x

Filter Results

Clear filters

Genres

Cross Group Sub

Immigration

Character Prominence

No Voice Too Small

2020

by Jeanette Bradley, Keila V. Dawson and Lindsay H. Metcalf

"Fans of We Rise, We Resist, We Raise Our Voices will love meeting fourteen young activists who have stepped up to make change in their community and the United States. Mari Copeny demanded clean water in Flint. Jazz Jennings insisted, as a transgirl, on playing soccer with the girls’ team. From Viridiana Sanchez Santos’s quinceañera demonstration against anti-immigrant policy to Zach Wahls’s moving declaration that his two moms and he were a family like any other, No Voice Too Small celebrates the young people who know how to be the change they seek. Fourteen poems honor these young activists. Featuring poems by Lesléa Newman, Traci Sorell, and Nikki Grimes. Additional text goes into detail about each youth activist’s life and how readers can get involved." -- publisher

Biography Incidental

Everyone Loves A Parade!*

2020

by Andrea Denish and Guilherme Franco

"Included on the SCBWI Recommended Reading List 2020 Everyone loves a parade, right? Well, almost everyone! In this colorful picture book, young readers can take a rollicking, rhyming journey through some of the most celebrated parades in the United States. Music, costumes, food, and fun. The sights and sounds of a parade are exciting! From Mardi Gras and Chinese New Year to St. Patrick's Day and LGBTQ+Pride, each celebration is a joy for kids, and most adults. With rhyming text and bold illustrations, children will love this festive and humorous look at some of the country's most well-known parades that features a surprise ending." -- publisher

Incidental

I’ll Build You A Bookcase / Te Haré Tu Propio Librero

2021

by Jean Ciborowski Fahey and Simone Shin

"In this charming bilingual picture book, children and their caregivers work together to build home libraries and discover the magic and wonder of reading books. En este encantador libro bilingüe, niños y sus cuidadores trabajan juntos para construir un librero y descubren la magia y la maravilla de leer libros. Told in simple, sweet rhyme in English and Spanish, I'll Build You a Bookcase celebrates the joy of reading and discovering new stories. Early literacy specialist Jean Ciborowski Fahey has crafted a story that celebrates literacy and inspires parents and caregivers to read to their child every day. Reading for even ten minutes a day has proven to build important language skills, curiosity and memory in young children, and encourages a positive association with books and reading later in life. Coupled with charming and vibrant art by award-winning illustrator Simone Shin, I'll Build You a Bookcase makes a wonderful addition to every bookshelf. Con simples y dulces rimas en inglés y español, "Te haré tu propio librero" celebra la alegría de leer y descubrir nuevas historias. La especialista en alfabetización temprana, Jean Ciborowski Fahey, ha creado una historia que celebra la alfabetización e inspira a padres y cuidadores a leerle a sus niños todos los días. Leer, aunque sea por diez minutos cada día, ha demostrado desarrollar importantes habilidades lingüísticas, curiosidad y memoria en los niños pequeños, y fomenta una asociación positiva con los libros y la lectura para toda la vida. Acompañado del arte encantador y vibrante de la ilustradora galardonada Simone Shin, "Te haré tu propio librero" hace una maravillosa adición a cada librero." -- publisher

Incidental

We Wear Masks

2020

by Marla Lesage

"In this picture book, readers are introduced to all sorts of professionals and other people who wear masks in their daily lives and are reminded that wearing a mask to limit the spread of germs is an act of kindness. During the COVID-19 pandemic, many children have been introduced to wearing face masks and seeing others in masks. Author and illustrator Marla Lesage normalizes mask-wearing by introducing young readers to artists, ranchers, pilots, welders, scientists and many more people who already wear masks in their day-to-day lives. This delightful, rhyming picture book will help explain to children why wearing a mask is important as we interact with others in our communities. Readers will learn that, when they put on their mask, they are choosing to be kind and considerate of others. We Wear Masks is a fun tool to help children make sense of this new reality and make wearing masks less scary and more relatable. This book can be used as a conversation starter about the pandemic, the spread of germs and viruses, and what families can do to keep themselves and the people they care about safe." -- publisher

Incidental

Shine, Baby, Shine

2020

by Leslie Staub and Lori Nichols

"A perfect gift for new parents, grandparents, caregivers, or siblings, this evocative picture book celebrates the boundless, universal love that a baby brings into the world. The birth of a new baby brings joy and profound meaning into its family and the world around them. An ordinary day in the lives of four diverse families is made extraordinary by the love their newest family member both gives and inspires. Readers will see a reflection of their own caring relationships in Leslie Staub’s joyful writing and Lori Nichols’s brilliant, shining illustrations. This inspirational book is an ode to the tender love that babies give and receive and reminds families everywhere always to make time to cherish and love each other." -- publisher

Incidental

The Bare Naked Book

2021

by Kathy Stinson and Melissa Cho

"Bodies, bodies! Big and small, short and tall, young and old—Every BODY is different! The Bare Naked Book has been a beloved fixture in libraries, classrooms, and at-home story times since its original publication in 1986. Now, this revised edition is ready to meet a new generation of readers. The text has been updated to reflect current understandings of gender and inclusion, which are also showcased in the brand-new, vibrant illustrations by Melissa Cho. Featuring a note from the author explaining the history of the book and the importance of this updated edition, readers will delight in this celebration of all kinds of bodies." -- publisher

Incidental

Vote for Our Future!

2020

by Margaret McNamara and Micah Player

"In this charming and powerful picture book about voting and elections, the students of Stanton Elementary School learn how we can find—and use—our voices for change. Every two years, on the first Tuesday of November, Stanton Elementary School closes for the day. For vacation? Nope! For repairs? No way! Stanton Elementary School closes so that it can transform itself into a polling station. People can come from all over to vote for the people who will make laws for the country. Sure, the Stanton Elementary School students might be too young to vote themselves, but that doesn’t mean they can’t encourage their parents, friends, and family to vote! After all, voting is how this country sees change—and by voting today, we can inspire tomorrow’s voters to change the future." -- publisher

Incidental

The Kite of Dreams

2020

by Pilar López Ávila, Paula Merlán and Concha Pasamar

"A kite trip that will take us around the world to meet the hopes and dreams of children around the world, from Bolivia to Nepal. If something is capable of bringing the children of the world together, that is the ability to dream and imagine a better world. Every single one of us has with them a kite of dreams, a flying kite sheltering our hopes and dreams. Through this kite trip, we will meet Mohesiwä, a boy who lives in the jungle, Amunet, who can’t stop but smiling when imagining a better future, Anja and his brother Tuvo, who rummage through the garbage to find something of value… The Kite of Dreams is an invitation to discover the different cultures of the world and to dream of a better world. A world with unpolluted air, where every child has access to education, a world with clean and uncontaminated waters, where biodiversity is preserved and forests are conserved. And more importantly, a world in which each child can be happy and reach out to those who need it." -- publisher

Incidental

Many of the cover images on this site are from Google Books.
Using Tiny Framework Log in