Skip to content

Search the Collection

Our collection of picture books featuring Black and Indigenous people and People of Color (BIPOC) is available to the public. *Inclusion of a title in the collection DOES NOT EQUAL a recommendation.* Click here for more on book evaluation.


COVID-19 Info: Currently, our collection is only available via Interlibrary Loan (ILL). However, we appreciate your patience as these services are still limited and you may find inactive links to the Bates Library Catalog and MARC record on certain book pages.

Find titles using a keyword search below (e.g. adoption, birthday, holidays, etc.), or by selecting one or a combination of filters on the lefthand sidebar below.

First time here? Start here!

599 matching books

Show Filters
x

Filter Results

Clear filters

Genres

Cross Group Sub

Immigration

The GayBCs

2019

by M.L. Webb

"A playdate extravaganza transforms into a celebration of friendship, love, and identity as four friends sashay out of all the closets, dress up in a wardrobe fit for kings and queens, and discover the wonder of imagination. From A is for Ally to F is for Family to Q is for Queer, debut author/illustrator M. L. Webb’s bright illustrations and lively, inclusive poems delight in the beauty of embracing one’s truest self. A glossary in the back offers opportunity for further discussion of terms and identities. The GayBCs is perfect for fans of A Is for Activist and Feminist Baby—showing kids and adults alike that every identity is worthy of being celebrated." -- publisher

Incidental

The buddy bench

2019

by Patty Brozo and Mike Deas

Having seen what being left out is like, children become agents of change, convincing their teacher to let them build a buddy bench. Buddy Benches were introduced in Germany in 2014. When a child sits on the bench, it signals to other children to ask him or her to play. Patty Brozo’s children bring a playground to raucous life while Mike Deas’s illustrations invest their games with images of planes, dragons and elephants. The children match their imaginations with empathy, identifying and swooping up the lonely. -- publisher

Incidental

You are creative

2008

by Todd Snow and Melodee Strong

All children are creative. When we notice and nurture their creativity, the sky's the limit. With simple words and inventive illustrations that relate to children's everyday lives, You Are Creative encourages little ones to explore and experience their creativity in many ways: touching toes to noses, dancing, putting things together and taking them apart, making happy faces, and more. This warm, affirming little book helps children know that it's good to imagine, have fun, play, and be themselves.--publisher

Incidental

Many of the cover images on this site are from Google Books.
Using Tiny Framework Log in