Skip to content

Search the Collection

Our collection of picture books featuring Black and Indigenous people and People of Color (BIPOC) is available to the public. *Inclusion of a title in the collection DOES NOT EQUAL a recommendation.* Click here for more on book evaluation.


Find titles using a keyword search below (e.g. adoption, birthday, holidays, etc.), or by selecting one or a combination of filters on the lefthand sidebar below.

First time here? Start here!

881 matching books

Show Filters
x

Filter Results

Clear filters

Genres

Cross Group Sub

Immigration

Character Prominence

The Magical Yet

2020

by Angela DiTerlizzi and Lorena Alvarez

"A rollicking, rhyming, and inspirational picture book perfect for fans of Oh, the Places You'll Go! and every child who is frustrated by what they can't do . . . YET! Each of us, from the day we're born, is accompanied by a special companion--the Yet. Can't tie your shoes? Yet! Can't ride a bike? Yet! Can't play the bassoon? Don't worry, Yet is there to help you out. The Magical Yet is the perfect tool for parents and educators to turn a negative into a positive when helping children cope with the inevitable difficult learning moments we all face. Whether a child or an adult, this encouraging and uplifting book reminds us that we all have things we haven't learned...yet!" -- publisher

Any Child

Pablo’s Pet

2021

by Sheri Tan and Shirley Ng-Benitez

"In this new early chapter book in the popular Confetti Kids series, Pablo learns to deal with the loss of his much-loved pet fish. Five friends from diverse backgrounds learn how to navigate common childhood challenges, new experiences, and the world around them in the realistic and kid-friendly Confetti Kids early chapter books. Pablo is sad when he discovers his pet fish Ruby has died. While he misses her and has to cope with the loss, luckily, he's not alone. Pablo's friends and family are there to comfort him and help him remember all the good times he had with Ruby. In the end, Pablo realizes that the things we love never really leave us." -- publisher

Any Child Cross Group

The Protest

2021

by Samantha Thornhill and Shirley Ng-Benitez

"In this new book in the popular Confetti Kids series, Lily and her friends organize a protest in order to save their neighborhood public garden from being demolished. Five friends from diverse backgrounds learn how to navigate common childhood challenges, new experiences, and the world around them in the realistic and kid-friendly Confetti Kids early chapter books. In this story, Lily learns that the community garden is going to be torn down and made into a parking lot. Lily and her friends are upset by the news. They decide to form a protest and call on friends, neighbors, and reporters to participate and save their beloved garden. On the morning of the protest, Lily is unsure if their efforts will work. After all, she and her friends are just kids, and no one is going to listen to them... Or can they prove that kids can make a difference too?" -- publisher

Any Child Cross Group

Growing Pains

2021

by Alison McLennan and Melissa Johns

"When Finn’s family plants a tree, he worries it might be cold or lonely. A story of empathy, caring for the environment and overcoming fears. When Finn’s family plants a tree in the backyard, he feels responsible for it and worries the little sapling is cold, hungry or lonely. He tries to share his breakfast with the tree, offers it his scarf, and spends the afternoon keeping it company. Just after going to bed, his nightlight goes out and Finn is plunged into darkness. As his nerves start to take hold, it occurs to him that his tree is outside in the dark, every night! But when he sees that his little tree is standing tall and brave in the moonlight and doesn’t seem afraid, it inspires Finn to be brave as well. And so Finn’s kindness and curiosity end up helping him to overcome his fear of the dark. Growing Pains is a touching story about curiosity, kindness, empathy, care of the environment, and overcoming your fears." -- publisher

Any Child

C is for Country

2021

by Lil Nas X and Theodore Taylor III

"NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • It’s time to saddle up! Lil Nas X, the chart-topping music icon and internet sensation behind the hit single “Old Town Road,” has crafted an empowering alphabet adventure that shows off his signature “S is for Swagger” and “X is for Extra” energy in a kid-friendly picture book that is one of a kind—just like him! Join superstar Lil Nas X and Panini the pony on a fabulous journey through the alphabet from sunup to sundown. Featuring bold, bright art from Theodore Taylor III, kids will experience wide-open pastures, farm animals, guitar music, cowboy hats, and all things country in this debut picture book that’s perfect for music lovers learning their ABCs and for anyone who loves Nas’s unique genre-blending style and his iconic red-carpet looks. (After all, “F is for feathers. And fringe. And fake fur.”)" -- publisher

Any Child

Sleepover at the Museum

2021

by Karen LeFrak and David Bucs

"Imagine having a sleepover at the museum for your birthday! The perfect story for museum lovers and adventure-seekers alike! Mason couldn’t wait to celebrate his birthday with a sleepover at the museum of natural history—his favorite place to visit. Armed with headlamps for the dark hallways, a map, and a list of clues, Mason and his two best friends take off on a scavenger hunt through each hall of the museum. But they aren’t just trying to solve the clues. They’re scouting for the best place to spend the night. Sleeping next to a T. rex in the Hall of Dinosaurs felt too scary. And sleeping with the monarch butterflies would probably tickle. This decision isn’t as easy as Mason thought it would be…. Wherever they end up, the museum at night is the best place for a birthday adventure!" -- publisher

Any Child Cross Group

Georgia in the Jungle

2019

by Jesse Holmes, Victoria Johnson, Jailah Lewis and Jocktavious Montford

"Georgia is having a hard time. A really hard time. Her best friend, Sienna, has passed away. She’s shutting down in school, ignoring texts from her friends, and won’t even eat her Chicken Alfredo (her favorite!) for dinner. Her mother knows she’s hurting and takes her to an overnight at the zoo to cheer her up. That night, the zoo animals visit her in a dream and talk to her about their experience with loss. Can these thoughtful animals help Georgia open up about her grief and start to find a path forward? The authors of this story are part of an innovative program run by Reach Incorporated. Reach develops grade-level readers and capable leaders by preparing teens to serve as tutors and role models for younger students, resulting in improved literacy outcomes for both. Learn more at reachincorporated.org. Books were created in collaboration with Shout Mouse Press. Shout Mouse is a nonprofit writing program and publishing house for under-heard voices. Through writing workshops that lead to professional publication, Shout Mouse coaches writers from marginalized backgrounds to tell their own stories in their own voices and, as published authors, to act as agents of change. Learn more at shoutmousepress.org" -- publisher

Any Child

Man Up!

2019

by Riley Campbell, Shirelle Hurt, London Jones and Joy Ingram

"Aaron is outgoing and funny and a whiz at kickball. He’s also compassionate and kind, reading books at the old folks home down H street. Basically, he’s pretty great. But he’s got a problem: everyone calls him a crybaby. When his friends cheat at Forknife, he cries out of anger. When he sees his brother Tayshawn hurt a neighborhood dog, he cries out of empathy. And when misses his oldest brother, Sage, who’s away at college, he cries out of loneliness. His dad, his friends, and his classmates tell him to “Leave that crying for the girls.”How can Aaron learn to value his feelings and nurture his sensitivity in a world telling him to “Man up”? The authors of this story are part of an innovative program run by Reach Incorporated. Reach develops grade-level readers and capable leaders by preparing teens to serve as tutors and role models for younger students, resulting in improved literacy outcomes for both. Learn more at reachincorporated.org." -- publisher

Any Child

Many of the cover images on this site are from Google Books.
Using Tiny Framework Log in