Skip to content

Search the Collection

Our collection of picture books featuring Black and Indigenous people and People of Color (BIPOC) is available to the public. *Inclusion of a title in the collection DOES NOT EQUAL a recommendation.* Click here for more on book evaluation.


COVID-19 Info: Currently, our collection is only available via Interlibrary Loan (ILL). However, we appreciate your patience as these services are still limited and you may find inactive links to the Bates Library Catalog and MARC record on certain book pages.

Find titles using a keyword search below (e.g. adoption, birthday, holidays, etc.), or by selecting one or a combination of filters on the lefthand sidebar below.

First time here? Start here!

1306 matching books

Show Filters
x

Filter Results

Clear filters

Genres

Cross Group Sub

Immigration

Character Prominence

The Magical Yet

2020

by Angela DiTerlizzi and Lorena Alvarez

"A rollicking, rhyming, and inspirational picture book perfect for fans of Oh, the Places You'll Go! and every child who is frustrated by what they can't do . . . YET! Each of us, from the day we're born, is accompanied by a special companion--the Yet. Can't tie your shoes? Yet! Can't ride a bike? Yet! Can't play the bassoon? Don't worry, Yet is there to help you out. The Magical Yet is the perfect tool for parents and educators to turn a negative into a positive when helping children cope with the inevitable difficult learning moments we all face. Whether a child or an adult, this encouraging and uplifting book reminds us that we all have things we haven't learned...yet!" -- publisher

Any Child

Love, Sophia on the Moon

2020

by Anica Mrose Rissi and Mika Song

"Life on Earth isn't always fair, so Sophia runs off to the moon, where there are no bedtimes, no time-outs, and no Mom. But as Sophia and her mom send letters to each other, Mom has a clever comeback for all of Sophia's angry notes. Home starts to sound not-quite-so-bad, especially when Mom reports that someone from the moon has moved in to Sophia's old room, they're having spaghetti for dinner, and they're reading Sophia's favorite story at bedtime. A through line of unconditional love underscored with lots of humor and imagination makes this picture book a stellar pick for storytime." -- publisher

Any Child

The City Speaks in Drums

2016

by Shauntay Grant and Susan Tooke

"Available for the first time in paperback, the award-winning The City Speaks in Drums follows two boys from North End Halifax as they explore their neighbourhood and the city beyond, finding music everywhere. At the skate park, by the Public Gardens, down Spring Garden Road, and on the boardwalk, drums and saxophones and dancers and basketballs create the jumbled, joyful, pulsing rhythm of Halifax. Shauntay Grant's playful spoken word-style poem and Susan Tooke's vivid illustrations create a wildly energetic and appealing journey through the big, bright city." -- publisher

Any Child

Pablo’s Pet

2021

by Sheri Tan and Shirley Ng-Benitez

"In this new early chapter book in the popular Confetti Kids series, Pablo learns to deal with the loss of his much-loved pet fish. Five friends from diverse backgrounds learn how to navigate common childhood challenges, new experiences, and the world around them in the realistic and kid-friendly Confetti Kids early chapter books. Pablo is sad when he discovers his pet fish Ruby has died. While he misses her and has to cope with the loss, luckily, he's not alone. Pablo's friends and family are there to comfort him and help him remember all the good times he had with Ruby. In the end, Pablo realizes that the things we love never really leave us." -- publisher

Any Child Cross Group

The Protest

2021

by Samantha Thornhill and Shirley Ng-Benitez

"In this new book in the popular Confetti Kids series, Lily and her friends organize a protest in order to save their neighborhood public garden from being demolished. Five friends from diverse backgrounds learn how to navigate common childhood challenges, new experiences, and the world around them in the realistic and kid-friendly Confetti Kids early chapter books. In this story, Lily learns that the community garden is going to be torn down and made into a parking lot. Lily and her friends are upset by the news. They decide to form a protest and call on friends, neighbors, and reporters to participate and save their beloved garden. On the morning of the protest, Lily is unsure if their efforts will work. After all, she and her friends are just kids, and no one is going to listen to them... Or can they prove that kids can make a difference too?" -- publisher

Any Child Cross Group

That’s Life!

2020

by Ame Dyckman and Cori Doerrfeld

"From the New York Times bestselling author of Wolfie the Bunny comes a witty send-up of inspirational greeting card wisdom that reminds readers of life's unpredictability and messiness--and beauty. After Life literally knocks on their door, one kid discovers that Life is truly what you make it. It's weird and may not always cooperate, but Life's beauty becomes apparent when it's embraced for all of its quirks. This story is filled with tongue-in-cheek idioms that will appeal to readers of all ages and will impart deeper wisdoms about the many milestones and stages of life." -- publisher

Any Child

The Collectors

2021

by Alice Feagan

"Nature lovers and collectors of all kinds will love this high-adventure quest story about two brave and clever girls who head into the forest in search of something extraordinary.Winslow and Rosie have been building an impressive collection of natural wonders, and now it's nearly complete. With just enough space left for one final piece, the girls set off into the forest to find something extraordinary. Their journey takes them far --- along the creek, across the valley, through the spruce grove and up the mountain. And while they find many extraordinary things, nothing is just the right extraordinary thing. When the girls find a deep, dark cave, they decide to venture farther than ever before. Surely, a mysterious cave must hold something extraordinary ...Bestselling creator Alice Feagan's distinct cut-paper collage artwork brings this fun quest story to life and packs it with learning opportunities. The story highlights that girls can be adventurous, brave, clever and fascinated by science, and also that the natural world is a wondrous place to explore. From the detailed depictions of the girls' gear to the many portrayals of their extraordinary finds (a gemstone, dinosaur fossils, a rare woodpecker's feather), there are numerous STEM curriculum applications here. The story also offers excellent character education lessons in perseverance, resilience and teamwork." -- publisher

Any Child Cross Group

If I Were A Tree

2021

by Andrea Zimmerman and Jing Jing Tsong

"Two siblings journey into the woods in a tender story of branching out and new growth from acclaimed writer Andrea Zimmerman and New York Times bestselling illustrator Jing Jing Tsong. The sister has camped in the forest many times before. The brother is nervous for his first overnight trip. As the illustrations in this multifaceted picture book show the siblings discovering the woods, the text celebrates the strength and grace of the trees that surround them, through evocative verse that speaks to all five senses: And with this new knowledge, the siblings are able to overcome their greatest challenge yet. Together, Andrea Zimmerman's wise poem and Jing Jing Tsong's kaleidoscopic art show how connections with the natural world can inspire us to live fully in the present and look hopefully to the future." -- publisher

Any Child

Many of the cover images on this site are from Google Books.
Using Tiny Framework Log in