Skip to content

Search the Collection

Our collection of picture books featuring Black and Indigenous people and People of Color (BIPOC) is available to the public. *Inclusion of a title in the collection DOES NOT EQUAL a recommendation.* Click here for more on book evaluation.


Find titles using a keyword search below (e.g. adoption, birthday, holidays, etc.), or by selecting one or a combination of filters on the lefthand sidebar below.

First time here? Start here!

75 matching books

Show Filters
x

Filter Results

Clear filters

Genres

Tribal Affiliation/Homelands

Immigration

Character Prominence

A Thousand White Butterflies

2021

by Jessica Betancourt-Perez, Karen Lynn. Williams and Gina Maldonado

"As if being new to the United States wasn’t hard enough, Isabella’s first day of school is canceled due to snow! Isabella has recently arrived from Colombia with her mother and abuela. She misses Papa, who is still in South America. It’s her first day of school, her make-new-friends day, but when classes are canceled because of too much snow, Isabella misses warm, green, Colombia more than ever. Then Isabella meets Katie and finds out that making friends in the cold is easier than she thought!" -- publisher

Beautiful Life Cross Group

Antonia

2021

by Dipacho

"Perfect for fans of Oliver Jeffers and Jon Klassen, this nearly wordless picture book tells a heartwarming and hopeful story of loss and new beginnings as a little girl and her dog, Antonia, journey with their family across a river to start a new life. Like so many people around the world facing difficult times, the little girl and her family in this eye-catching and emotionally satisfying picture book have had to leave their home. The girl has brought along her belongings and her friendly, curious dog, Antonia. While waiting for a boat to take them across a river, she plays with other children who’ve also brought pets—a duck and a bird. But on the other side of the river, Antonia goes missing in the brush. The girl is distraught, until a new friend releases his own pet bird from its cage in an extraordinary gesture of solidarity and freedom. With colorful, whimsical illustrations and an uplifting message of resilience, this US debut from a talented Colombian creator will leave readers with a full heart." -- publisher

Beautiful Life

Delicious!

2021

by Julie Larios and Julie Paschkis

"Journey around the world with this poetry collection celebrating delicious international street food! The world is a delicious place! Come along on an international journey to try a hot pretzel in New York City; saffron tea in Mumbai, India; deep fried scorpions in Beijing, China; and much, much more. This poetry collection celebrates all the different kinds of street food from around the globe, introducing young readers to snacks they know and ones they’ve never heard of—showing that no matter where we live, we all appreciate a yummy treat!" -- publisher

Race/Culture Concepts

How Kids Celebrate Christmas Around the World

2021

by Pavla Hanáčková, Karolina Medková and Mária Nerádová

"Who brings Christmas presents in Italy? Where can we sunbathe on the beach on Christmas Day? Why do Russians celebrate Christmas in January? Everyone loves Christmas! But have you ever considered that Christmas might be celebrated elsewhere in the world in another way? What is the typical Christmas dish in Japan? Would you like to spend Christmas day in Ethiopia? Which goodies are always present on festive tables in Greece? On our journey together you’ll learn lots of interesting things about the year’s most beautiful holiday." -- publisher

Informational Race/Culture Concepts

How Kids Celebrate Holidays Around the World

2021

by Pavla Hanáčková, Helena Haraštová and Michaela Bergmannová

"This series takes young readers to different parts of the world, showing a wide range of cultures and traditions. See how varied the world is! Are you curious how people make merry in other countries? Good company, great food and drink, and most importantly, lots of fun—we all like celebrating holidays! But have you ever wondered how people spend holidays across the world? Together we’ll join in with many celebrations, all of them different. What’s Halloween like in Ireland, and Timkat in Ethiopia? What are the customs observed at Hanukkah? You’ll make new friends who’ll tell you all about their culture. Ready to explore? It’s party time all over the world!" -- publisher

Informational Race/Culture Concepts

Little Dandelion Seeds the World

2021

by Julia Richardson, Kevin Howdeshell and Kristen Howdeshell

"Dandelions thrive on all seven continents. The cheery blooms are among the most resilient and adaptable in the world. In this lyrical book, learn how the crafty plant travels on the wind and hitches rides in all manner of ways in order to spread far and wide. Includes a map and backmatter on dandelions. Did you know dandelions thrive on all seven continents? The cheery blooms are among the most resilient and adaptable in the world. In this lyrical book, learn how the crafty plant travels on the wind and hitches rides in all manner of ways in order to spread far and wide. Includes a map and backmatter on dandelions." -- publisher

Informational

One Whole Me

2021

by Dia Mixon and Natalia Jiménez Osorio

"Being bicultural is a wonderful thing! Follow along as a Colombian-American child embraces both cultures that make him unique. This lighthearted story, written in Spanglish, showcases languages, food, family, music, and more. It will inspire children to be proud of who they are and to never forget what makes them special!" -- publisher

Race/Culture Concepts

Many of the cover images on this site are from Google Books.
Using Tiny Framework Log in