Skip to content

Search the Collection

Our collection of picture books featuring Black and Indigenous people and People of Color (BIPOC) is available to the public. *Inclusion of a title in the collection DOES NOT EQUAL a recommendation.* Click here for more on book evaluation.


COVID-19 Info: Currently, our collection is only available via Interlibrary Loan (ILL). However, we appreciate your patience as these services are still limited and you may find inactive links to the Bates Library Catalog and MARC record on certain book pages.

Find titles using a keyword search below (e.g. adoption, birthday, holidays, etc.), or by selecting one or a combination of filters on the lefthand sidebar below.

First time here? Start here!

39 matching books

Show Filters

Andromeda, Princess of Ethiopia / ʼItyap̣yāwitwa Leʻelt ʼAndromédā

2021

by Ellenore Angelidis, Leyla Angelidis, Worku L. Mulat and Daniel Getahun

"Since the beginning of humanity, Ethiopia was the origin of some of the most remarkable and important people in history. The bones of one of the first hominids, Lucy, were found in Ethiopia, and stories of legendary Ethiopians stretch back into ancient history. Some of these legends were so famous that they were recorded in ancient Greek Mythology. One of these is the story of the daughter of ancient Ethiopian King Cepheus and Queen Cassiopeia: Princess Andromeda. Andromeda’s beauty was so renowned that it ignited the jealousy of Poseidon, who sent a great sea monster to devour her. But her plight inspired the Greek hero Perseus to intervene in her rescue, and then to marry her. Their story of love and hardship was immortalized as constellations which are still visible in Ethiopian night skies." -- publisher

Folklore

Astronaut Training

2021

by Aneta Cruz and Olivia Aserr

"When Astrid’s first space mission goes disastrously wrong, she realizes she needs a bit more training than she thought! Astrid is training to go to space! But as she builds her shuttle, cooks astronaut food, and practices floating in zero gravity, Dad tells Astrid that the ship’s construction is too dangerous, she’s too little to cook alone, and she’s not allowed to flood the bathroom. That night, when Astrid dreams she’s an astronaut, the challenges she encounters are overwhelming. Astrid realizes she isn’t as ready as she thought. Back on Earth, Astrid turns to her loving and supportive Dad, who helps Astrid continue her astronaut training." -- publisher

Any Child

The Universe and You

2021

by Suzanne Slade and Stephanie Fizer Coleman

"During the night, as a child sleeps in her bedroom, the reader is taken on an exploration of our solar system, galaxies beyond, and finally the universe as a whole. The cycle continues when the child awakens to a new day. Back matter includes science facts. During the night, as we sleep, a beautiful celestial dance is taking place. While Earth seems solid and still, it's actually spinning on its axis and circling the sun. Joining Earth in this orbit around the sun are the other seven planets in our solar system, along with dozens of moons and millions of comets and asteroids. Containing our solar system is the wondrous Milky Way galaxy, with its billions of stars, just like our own sun, swirling and whirling around. And on from there are the billions of galaxies with their own stars swirling and whirling into the ever-expanding space called our universe. When the sun rises on a brand new day, the dance continues. Through lyrical text, award-winning science writer Suzanne Slade (June Almeida, Virus Detective! The Woman Who Discovered the First Human Coronavirus) takes young readers on an exploration of our solar system, galaxies beyond, and finally the universe as a whole. Back matter includes science facts." -- publisher

Any Child Informational

Welcome to Florida

2021

by Asa Gilland

"Welcome to Florida! We’re glad you’re here! Introducing a new series of picture books about each US state. Children from Florida and those who’d like to visit Florida one day will love this bright, cheerful, fact-filled picture book celebration of “The Sunshine State.” With information about the state’s animals, plants, regions, food, people, customs, and fun places to visit, this tribute to Florida is the perfect gift for vacationers and residents alike. The warm, bright illustrations highlight the many delights to be found throughout the state, and the easy-yet-informative details (“The smallest post office in the United States is a tiny building in the Everglades”) give just the right amount of information to kids from preschool on up. Series Overview: The “Welcome to” series starts in spring ’21 with Arizona, California, Florida, and Texas, with plans to add more states each season." -- publisher

Incidental Informational

Child of the Universe

2020

by Ray Jayawardhana and Raúl Colón

"Perfect for fans of The Wonderful Things You Will Be and That’s Me Loving You, this picture book by a renowned astrophysicist is a lyrical meditation on the preciousness of one child and the vastness of the universe. A lyrical meditation on the preciousness of one child and the vastness of the universe, this gorgeously illustrated picture book shares the immensity of a parent’s love along with the message that we are all connected to the broader cosmos in important and intimate ways. A perfect bedtime read-aloud, Child of the Universe is a book to cherish forever. The author is an astrophysicist who has been fascinated by the universe since he was a child. As a parent, he has developed a new appreciation for the deep connections between billions of years of cosmic evolution and this one tiny human." -- publisher

Any Child

From Ed’s To Ned’s

2020

by Gideon Sterer and Lucy Ruth Cummins

"What starts with just two kids quickly escalates into a rhyming, rollicking romp through the neighborhood, where all the kids are invited! Climb to Cal’s Whirl to Will’s Trampoline from Ted’s to Jill’s! Two sisters venture out of their house and pick up Cal, then all three head to Will’s. Four become eight and then eight become twelve, and before you know it, there are twenty-two! Never touching the ground, the kids have no shortage of ways to get to their pal’s place when there is a mission at hand! Trampolines and slides. Propellers and parachutes. Diving boards and swinging vines. Find your favorite mode and join the friends on the adventurous trip!" -- publisher

Incidental

Many of the cover images on this site are from Google Books.
Using Tiny Framework Log in