Skip to content

Search the Collection

Our collection of picture books featuring Black and Indigenous people and People of Color (BIPOC) is available to the public. *Inclusion of a title in the collection DOES NOT EQUAL a recommendation.* Click here for more on book evaluation.


Find titles using a keyword search below (e.g. adoption, birthday, holidays, etc.), or by selecting one or a combination of filters on the lefthand sidebar below.

First time here? Start here!

110 matching books

Show Filters
x

Filter Results

Clear filters

Genres

Cross Group Sub

Immigration

Character Prominence

Areli Is a Dreamer

2021

by Areli Morales and Luisa Uribe

"In the first picture book written by a DACA Dreamer, Areli Morales tells her own powerful and vibrant immigration story. When Areli was just a baby, her mama and papa moved from Mexico to New York with her brother, Alex, to make a better life for the family--and when she was in kindergarten, they sent for her, too. Everything in New York was different. Gone were the Saturdays at Abuela’s house, filled with cousins and sunshine. Instead, things were busy and fast and noisy. Areli’s limited English came out wrong, and schoolmates accused her of being illegal. But with time, America became her home. And she saw it as a land of opportunity, where millions of immigrants who came before her paved their own paths. She knew she would, too. This is a moving story--one that resonates with millions of immigrants who make up the fabric of our country--about one girl living in two worlds, a girl whose DACA application was eventually approved and who is now living her American dream. The Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) is an immigration policy that has provided relief to thousands of undocumented children, referred to as “Dreamers,” who came to the United States as children and call this country home." -- publisher

Beautiful Life Biography

Delicious!

2021

by Julie Larios and Julie Paschkis

"Journey around the world with this poetry collection celebrating delicious international street food! The world is a delicious place! Come along on an international journey to try a hot pretzel in New York City; saffron tea in Mumbai, India; deep fried scorpions in Beijing, China; and much, much more. This poetry collection celebrates all the different kinds of street food from around the globe, introducing young readers to snacks they know and ones they’ve never heard of—showing that no matter where we live, we all appreciate a yummy treat!" -- publisher

Race/Culture Concepts

Escape

2021

by Ming Chen, Wah Chen and Carmen Vela

"Remarkable true stories of escape throughout history due to war, famine, slavery, intolerance, and many other horrendous circumstances CLING. Don’t let go. Hold tight. Never give up. FLY. Rev up. Lift off. Soar. PEDAL. Set off. Cycle. Pedal for your life. Throughout history, ordinary people have been forced to leave their families and homes because of war, famine, slavery, intolerance, economic and political upheaval, or climate change. These remarkable true stories of escape show how courageous people all around the world have overcome seemingly insurmountable obstacles in their flight to freedom." -- publisher

Oppression & Resilience

How Kids Celebrate Christmas Around the World

2021

by Pavla Hanáčková, Karolina Medková and Mária Nerádová

"Who brings Christmas presents in Italy? Where can we sunbathe on the beach on Christmas Day? Why do Russians celebrate Christmas in January? Everyone loves Christmas! But have you ever considered that Christmas might be celebrated elsewhere in the world in another way? What is the typical Christmas dish in Japan? Would you like to spend Christmas day in Ethiopia? Which goodies are always present on festive tables in Greece? On our journey together you’ll learn lots of interesting things about the year’s most beautiful holiday." -- publisher

Informational Race/Culture Concepts

How Kids Celebrate Holidays Around the World

2021

by Pavla Hanáčková, Helena Haraštová and Michaela Bergmannová

"This series takes young readers to different parts of the world, showing a wide range of cultures and traditions. See how varied the world is! Are you curious how people make merry in other countries? Good company, great food and drink, and most importantly, lots of fun—we all like celebrating holidays! But have you ever wondered how people spend holidays across the world? Together we’ll join in with many celebrations, all of them different. What’s Halloween like in Ireland, and Timkat in Ethiopia? What are the customs observed at Hanukkah? You’ll make new friends who’ll tell you all about their culture. Ready to explore? It’s party time all over the world!" -- publisher

Informational Race/Culture Concepts

I am Frida Kahlo

2021

by Brad Meltzer and Chris Eliopoulos

"The famous Mexican painter Frida Kahlo is the 23rd hero in the New York Times bestselling picture book biography series for ages 5 to 8. Includes a foil mirror! The free-spirited Frida Kahlo survived childhood polio and a terrible bus accident to become one of the most beloved artists in the world. Her subject was the thing she knew best: herself. On her canvases, she depicted her Mexican homeland, her pets, and even her pain. Today, she continues to be admired for the exquisite honesty of her work and for being unafraid to do things differently." -- publisher

Biography

Playing at the Border

2021

by Joanna Ho and Teresa Martinez

"From Joanna Ho, the author of the New York Times bestselling Eyes That Kiss in the Corners, comes a timely, lyrical picture book about famous musician Yo-Yo Ma, immigration, and using music to build bridges between cultures. The brilliant author of Eyes that Kiss in the Corners, Joanna Ho, delivers a poignant picture book biography, perfect for fans of Ada’s Violin. Before Yo-Yo Ma became one of the most renowned and celebrated cellists, he wanted to play the double bass. But it was too big for his four-year-old hands. Over time, Ma honed his amazing talent, and his music became a reflection of his own life between borders, cultures, disciplines, and generations. Since then, he has recorded over a hundred albums, won nineteen Grammy Awards, performed for eight American presidents, and received the National Medal of the Arts and the Presidential Medal of Freedom, just to name a few accomplishments. Staying true to himself, Yo-Yo Ma performed at the US-Mexico border at the Rio Grande on April 13, 2019, as part of his multicontinent “Bach Project” tour to prove a point—through music, we can build bridges rather than walls between different cultures. Joanna Ho’s lyrical writing and Teresa Martinez’s vibrant art weave together to tell an inspiring story of Yo-Yo Ma, who challenges conventions, expectations, and beliefs in order to build bridges to unite communities, people, and cultures." -- publisher

Biography Race/Culture Concepts

Nacho’s Nachos

2020

by Sandra Nickel and Oliver Dominguez

"The delicious true story of an inventive chef and the serendipitous events that led to the creation of the world's favorite snack--nachos! Ignacio Anaya was born in Mexico in 1895, and like a lot of Ignacios, he was nicknamed Nacho. Young Nacho loved to eat and cook, and when he grew up, he found a job in a restaurant. Eventually he became head waiter at the Victory Club, a popular restaurant in Piedras Negras, Mexico, right across the Rio Grande river from Eagle Pass, Texas. One afternoon in 1940, during the Victory Club's quiet hours between lunch and dinner, Mamie Finan, a regular customer from the US, walked in with three friends. They wanted a snack--something new, something different. Nacho rushed to the kitchen and improvised with what was on hand: corn tortillas, cheddar cheese, and jalapeño peppers. In that moment, Nacho's Special, the dish that later became known simply as "nachos," was born! Word of this delicious new snack spread quickly. Soon restaurants all over Mexico, the United States, and later the world, were serving nachos. Little did Nacho know that his name would one day be a household word around the globe! The delicious true story of an inventive chef and the serendipitous events that led to the creation of the world's favorite snack--nachos!" -- publisher

Biography Cross Group

Many of the cover images on this site are from Google Books.
Using Tiny Framework Log in