Skip to content

Search the Collection

Our collection of picture books featuring Black and Indigenous people and People of Color (BIPOC) is available to the public. *Inclusion of a title in the collection DOES NOT EQUAL a recommendation.* Click here for more on book evaluation.


COVID-19 Info: Currently, our collection is only available via Interlibrary Loan (ILL). However, we appreciate your patience as these services are still limited and you may find inactive links to the Bates Library Catalog and MARC record on certain book pages.

Find titles using a keyword search below (e.g. adoption, birthday, holidays, etc.), or by selecting one or a combination of filters on the lefthand sidebar below.

First time here? Start here!

878 matching books

Show Filters
x

Filter Results

Clear filters

Genres

Tribal Affiliation/Homelands

Cross Group Sub

Immigration

Religion

A House for Every Bird

2021

by Megan Maynor and Kaylani Juanita

"A young artist’s drawings rebel against her when she tries to put her sketched birds in houses that match how they look, but not how they feel in this hilarious picture book perfect for readers of Julian is a Mermaid and The Big Orange Splot. A young artist has drawn birds and bird houses in corresponding colors. Now it’s time to match them up. The blue bird goes in the blue house, the orange bird in the orange house, and so on. But wait! The birds don’t agree with the narrator’s choices and, much to her distress, are rebelling by swapping houses. Can the narrator make the birds see sense? Or is it possible that you just can’t tell a bird by its feathers?" -- publisher

Any Child

Dream Weaver

2021

by Gary Wright and Rob Jr. Sayegh

"Gary Wright's hit song is reimagined as a fantastical picture book to delight dreamers of all ages. Dream Weaver is a vibrantly illustrated picture book based on Gary Wright's 1975 breakout single from his platinum-selling album The Dream Weaver, which has sold over two million copies. "Dream Weaver" peaked at #2 on Billboard's Hot 100 chart and reached #1 in Canada. The song's popularity continued long after its release, and in 1991, Wright recorded a new version for the Wayne's World soundtrack; the soundtrack reached #1 on Billboard's soundtrack album chart and also sold over two million copies. "Dream Weaver" continues to appear in films and TV shows to this day. With lyrics by Gary Wright and illustrations by Rob Sayegh Jr., this magical picture book follows a little boy's dream of a train that takes him all the way to the moon. Poised to become a bedtime classic, Dream Weaver is the perfect opportunity for parents to share this timeless song and will surely spark the imaginations of young and old alike." -- publisher

Any Child

Maya’s Big Scene

2021

by Isabelle Arsenault

"Maya’s imagination sets the stage for her friends to act out her feminist play. Can she make room in her queendom for the will of the people? A funny picture book about leadership and fair play for fans of King Baby and Olivia. Maya is a bossy, burgeoning playwright and loves to have the kids in her Mile End neighborhood bring her scenes to life. Her latest work, about a feminist revolution, is almost ready for public performance. But as her actors begin to express their costume preferences, Maya quickly learns that their visions may not match hers…and as both Director and Queen, Maya demands obedience and loyalty in her queendom of equality! But she soon realizes—with the help of her friends and subjects—that absolute bossiness corrupts absolutely! Series Overview: Each book in the Mile End Kids series focuses on a different child in a group of friends who play together in a city alleyway inspired by Isabelle’s own Montreal neighborhood—an urban Peanuts gang! While the books are linked in terms of setting and characters, each also stands alone." -- publisher

Any Child Cross Group

Night Shadows

2021

by Barbara DaCosta and Ed Young

"The third collaboration between Young and DaCosta (Nighttime Ninja and Mighty Moby) tells the story of a lonely girl who finds an unlikely friend in her elderly neighbor. Each night kids have been creeping around and spray painting houses in Tasha’s neighborhood. Two days in a row, her neighbor Mrs. Lucy awakes to find graffiti outside her home. Tasha helps her paint over it. They discover that they are alike, except for their age, and become inseparable. But who keeps defacing Mrs. Lucy’s house? Ed Young’s inimitable cut-out art sensitively conveys the characters’ emotions and the drama of the story: as the truth is discovered, the houses become multicolored, but the characters remain faceless. Then when the miscreants are revealed, Tasha’s and Mrs. Lucy’s faces become visible. A subtle expression of recognition on both…..This nuanced story shows young readers that honesty and respect are the most important elements for friendship. With Night Shadows Caldecott Medal-winner Ed Young’s oneiric illustrations and Barbara DaCosta’s introspective narrative jointly reproduce the intensity with which a child experiences solitude and companionship." -- publisher

Any Child

Strawberry Swing

2021

by Coldplay and Mitch Miller

"Coldplay’s warm and infectious hit song “Strawberry Swing” finds a perfect vessel in this gentle picture book for children. Strawberry Swing is a tenderly illustrated picture book of one of Coldplay’s best known songs. It was the fifth single released from their hit album Viva la Vida, and gained widespread acclaim for its accompanying stop-motion animation music video. With lyrics by Coldplay and illustrations by Mitch Miller, Strawberry Swing tells a sweet story of friendship, encapsulating the innocence, fun, and struggle of finding someone special—and wanting to share every moment with them. The book provides an excellent opportunity to introduce Coldplay’s irresistible melodies to children who will delight in both the music and the message." -- publisher

Any Child

A Space for Me

2020

by Cathryn Falwell

"It's just not fair! Alex's big sister has her own room, but Alex has to share a room with their little brother, Lucas, who makes noise, plays with Alex's toys, and takes over both sides of their room. One day, when Lucas breaks Alex's favorite dragon, spills all the crayons, and throws puzzle pieces into the air, Alex has had enough! All Alex wants is a quiet space for himself. In the backyard he creates the perfect spot to read, play, think, and dream. But when Lucas misses him, Alex helps his brother build his own special space too. Some days Alex spends time in his space by himself. Some days Lucas plays in his space by himself. And some days the brothers play in their room--a space for both of them together." -- publisher

Any Child

A Unicorn Named Sparkle and the Pumpkin Monster

2020

by Amy Young

"The fourth book in the A Unicorn Named Sparkle series features pumpkins, silly adventures, and of course, a sparkly friendship — perfect for Autumn! Lucy and our favorite unicorn are back. Lucy and Sparkle love Halloween, especially at Frank's Pumpkin Farm. They get to run through corn mazes, play games, decorate pumpkins, and most importantly: eat a lot of cider donuts. But Lucy and Sparkle discover one big difference between them: Lucy loves to be scared every once in awhile. Sparkle? Not so much. When Lucy takes the scary part of Halloween one step too far for Sparkle, she must comfort her frightened unicorn pal—and win back his trust." -- publisher

Any Child

Many of the cover images on this site are from Google Books.
Using Tiny Framework Log in

STAY UP-TO-DATE ABOUT TRENDS IN MULTICULTURAL PICTURE BOOKS!

Sign up for our newsletter and get a FREE

color poster of our unique picture book categories