Skip to content

Search the Collection

Our collection of picture books featuring Black and Indigenous people and People of Color (BIPOC) is available to the public. *Inclusion of a title in the collection DOES NOT EQUAL a recommendation.* Click here for more on book evaluation.


COVID-19 Info: Currently, our collection is only available via Interlibrary Loan (ILL). However, we appreciate your patience as these services are still limited and you may find inactive links to the Bates Library Catalog and MARC record on certain book pages.

Find titles using a keyword search below (e.g. adoption, birthday, holidays, etc.), or by selecting one or a combination of filters on the lefthand sidebar below.

First time here? Start here!

947 matching books

Show Filters
x

Filter Results

Clear filters

Settings

Genres

Cross Group Sub

Immigration

How Do You Stop a Moving Train?: A Physics Book About Forces

2021

by Lucy D. Hayes, Madeline J. Hayes and Srimalie Bassani

"Have you ever wondered how astronauts float in space or how your pizza gets from your plate to your mouth? Basic principles of physics are explored through diagrams, photos, and informative and engaging text in this newest addition to the How Do series. In How Do You Stop a Moving Train?, readers will learn: · The difference between distance and displacement · Formulas for measuring distance, speed, and time · What acceleration is and how to calculate it · How objects move using force and how they stop using friction · Gravitational forces and how they are affected by the size of an object" -- publisher

Incidental Informational

Malala Yousafzai

2021

by Maria Isabel Sánchez Vegara and Manal Mirza

"In this book from the critically acclaimed, multimillion-copy best-selling Little People, BIG DREAMS series, discover the life of Malala Yousafzai, the incredible activist for girls' education and the youngest Nobel Prize laureate?. In this book from the critically acclaimed, multimillion-copy best-selling Little People, BIG DREAMS series, discover the life of Malala Yousafzai, the incredible activist for girls’ education and the youngest Nobel Prize laureate​. When Malala was born in Mingora, Pakistan, her father was determined she would have every opportunity that a boy would have. She loved getting an education, but when a hateful regime came to power, girls were no longer allowed to go to school. Malala spoke out in public about this, which made her a target for violence. She was shot in the left side of her head and woke up in a hospital in England. Finally, after long months and many surgeries, Malala recovered, and resolved to become an activist for girls’ education. Now a recent Oxford graduate, Malala continues to fight for a world where all girls can learn and lead. This powerful book features stylish and quirky illustrations and extra facts at the back, including a biographical timeline with historical photos and a detailed profile of the activist’s life." -- publisher

Biography Oppression & Resilience

Old Enough to Save the Planet

2021

by Loll Kirby and Adelina Lirius

"An inspiring look at young climate change activists who are changing the world The world is facing a climate crisis like we’ve never seen before. And kids around the world are stepping up to raise awareness and try to save the planet. As people saw in the youth climate strike in September 2019, kids will not stay silent about this subject—they’re going to make a change. Meet 12 young activists from around the world who are speaking out and taking action against climate change. Learn about the work they do and the challenges they face, and discover how the future of our planet starts with each and every one of us." -- publisher

Biography

Prince

2021

by Maria Isabel Sánchez Vegara and Cachetejack

"Part of the best-selling Little People, BIG DREAMS series, Prince tells the inspiring story of this world-renowned singer-songwriter. In this book from the critically acclaimed, multimillion-copy best-selling Little People, BIG DREAMS series, discover the life of Prince, one of the most iconic performers in music history. From a young age, Prince was obsessed with music. Even though he couldn’t read it, his talent—whether on piano, drums, guitar, or vocals—turned him into an icon. Combining funk, disco, soul, and almost every other genre out there, his songs are some of the best-loved all around the world. Prince knew that he didn’t have to be like anyone else to be a star—and there was no one quite like Prince. This inspiring book features stylish and quirky illustrations and extra facts at the back, including a biographical timeline with historical photos and a detailed profile of the music legend’s life." -- publisher

Biography

Roots and Wings

2021

by Amy Novesky, Shahzia Sikander and Hanna Barczyk

"Pakistani-American artist Shahzia Sikander recounts how growing up as a tomboy in a multicultural home in Pakistan inspired her to become an artist Growing up in a multigenerational, multicultural home in Lahore, Pakistan, where her family’s Muslim traditions are filled with food and rituals, Shahzia is surrounded by stories of all kinds. At the Catholic school she attends, she studies Western literature, and at home, her father regales her and her siblings with fantastical tales from a Russian storybook on animals. Shahzia’s love for books leads to a fascination with illustrations, like the ones she sees in illuminated manuscripts and South Asian miniature portraits, and she discovers a talent for drawing. Through art, Shahzia is able to create the different worlds she reads about, using her imagination to take her beyond the walls of the home she grows up in. Written by artist Shahzia Sikander with award-winning author Amy Novesky, and featuring artwork, Roots and Wings is a colorful introduction to a multicultural perspective that will inspire young readers to use art and imagination to explore new worlds." -- publisher

Biography

Sprouting Wings

2021

by Shari Becker, Louisa Jaggar and Floyd Cooper

"The inspirational and true story of James Herman Banning, the first African American pilot to fly across the country, comes to life in this picture book biography perfect for fans of Hidden Figures and Little Leaders. Includes art from a Coretta Scott King award-winning illustrator. James Herman Banning always dreamed of touching the sky. But how could a farm boy from Oklahoma find a plane? And how would he learn to fly it? None of the other pilots looked like him. In a journey that would span 3,300 miles, take twenty-one days, and inspire a nation, James Herman Banning proved that you can’t put barriers on dreams. Louisa Jaggar incorporates over seven years of research, including Banning’s own writings and an interview with the aviator’s great-nephew. She teams up with cowriter Shari Becker and award-winning illustrator Floyd Cooper to capture Banning’s historic flight across the United States." -- publisher

Biography Cross Group

The Singer and the Scientist

2021

by Lisa Rose and Isabel Muñoz

"A little known story about the friendship between the great singer and the great scientist, Marian Anderson and Albert Einstein, and a lesson that true friendship knows no bounds. It's 1937, and Marian Anderson is one of the most famous singers in America. But after she gives a performance for an all-white audience, she learns that the nearby hotel is closed to African Americans. She doesn't know where she'll stay for the night. Until the famous scientist Albert Einstein invites her to stay at his house. Marian, who endures constant discrimination as a Black performer, learns that Albert faced prejudice as a Jew in Germany. She discovers their shared passion for music—and their shared hopes for a more just world." -- publisher

Biography Cross Group

Unspeakable

2021

by Carole Boston Weatherford and Floyd Cooper

"A remarkable look at a significant moment in our nation's past, shedding light on racial violence and offering hope for a better future. Celebrated author Carole Boston Weatherford and illustrator Floyd Cooper provide a powerful look at the Tulsa Race Massacre, one of the worst incidents of racial violence in our nation's history. The book traces the history of African Americans in Tulsa's Greenwood district and chronicles the devastation that occurred in 1921 when a white mob attacked the Black community. News of what happened was largely suppressed, and no official investigation occurred for seventy-five years. This picture book sensitively introduces young readers to this tragedy and concludes with a call for a better future." -- publisher

Informational Oppression & Resilience

Welcome to Arizona

2021

by Asa Gilland

"Welcome to Arizona! We’re glad you’re here! Introducing a new series of picture books about each US state. Children from Arizona and those who’d like to visit Arizona one day will love this bright, cheerful, fact-filled picture book celebration of “The Grand Canyon State.” With information about the state’s animals, plants, regions, food, people, customs, and fun places to visit, this tribute to Arizona is the perfect gift for vacationers and residents alike. The warm, bright illustrations highlight the many delights to be found throughout the state, and the easy-yet-informative details (“Arizona’s state mammal, the ringtailed cat, is not a cat! It is a member of the racoon family”) give just the right amount of information to kids from preschool on up. Series Overview: The “Welcome to” series starts in spring ’21 with Arizona, California, Florida, and Texas, with plans to add more states each season." -- publisher

Incidental Informational

Welcome to California

2021

by Asa Gilland

"Welcome to California! We’re glad you’re here! Introducing a new series of picture books about each US state. Children from California and those who’d like to visit California one day will love this bright, cheerful, fact-filled picture book celebration of “The Golden State.” With information about the state’s animals, plants, regions, food, people, customs, and fun places to visit, this tribute to California is the perfect gift for vacationers and residents alike. The warm, bright illustrations highlight the many delights to be found throughout the state, and the easy-yet-informative details (“The biggest trees you’ll ever see are in California! The redwood tree is the tallest living thing on Earth”) give just the right amount of information to kids from preschool on up. Series Overview: The “Welcome to” series starts in spring ’21 with Arizona, California, Florida, and Texas, with plans to add more states each season." -- publisher

Incidental Informational

Many of the cover images on this site are from Google Books.
Using Tiny Framework Log in

STAY UP-TO-DATE ABOUT TRENDS IN MULTICULTURAL PICTURE BOOKS!

Sign up for our newsletter and get a FREE

color poster of our unique picture book categories