Skip to content

Search the Collection

Our collection of picture books featuring Black and Indigenous people and People of Color (BIPOC) is available to the public. *Inclusion of a title in the collection DOES NOT EQUAL a recommendation.* Click here for more on book evaluation.


COVID-19 Info: Currently, our collection is only available via Interlibrary Loan (ILL). However, we appreciate your patience as these services are still limited and you may find inactive links to the Bates Library Catalog and MARC record on certain book pages.

Find titles using a keyword search below (e.g. adoption, birthday, holidays, etc.), or by selecting one or a combination of filters on the lefthand sidebar below.

First time here? Start here!

199 matching books

Show Filters
x

Filter Results

Clear filters

Cross Group Sub

Immigration

Genres

A Little Space for Me

2020

by Jennifer Gray Olson

"A inventive picture book about finding much needed personal space within a crowded, busy world. Sometimes the world is just too much, from a sibling's bedtime snoring and a friend's smelly lunch to the crowded playground so loud you can't even think. Follow the journey of one girl as she sets off to find some space of her own. Gradually, she wants more and more until there is nothing left except space, where she can breathe, dream, rest, and think. Soon, the girl decides to tell her family about why space (and mindfulness) is so important to her, and they all learn to share some space together. With ingenious use of images of the galaxy as a metaphor for personal space, A Little Space for Me is a visually stunning and original story for any child who needs to find place of their own in our great, big world." -- publisher

Any Child

Bedtime for Sweet Creatures

2020

by Nikki Grimes and Elizabeth Zunon

"4 Starred Reviews! Nikki Grimes, Coretta Scott King Award winning author, and illustrator Elizabeth Zunon's latest children's masterpiece creates an imagination-fueled journey to bedtime. It's bedtime, but Mommy's little boy is not sleepy. He growls like a bear, he questions like an owl, he tosses his mane like a lion. He hunts for water like a sly wolf, and hides like a snake. Mommy needs to wrangle her sweet creature in bed so that the whole family can sleep." -- publisher

Any Child

Black is a Rainbow Color

2020

by Angela Joy and Ekua Holmes

"A child reflects on the meaning of being Black in this moving and powerful anthem about a people, a culture, a history, and a legacy that lives on. From the wheels on a bicycle to the robe on Thurgood Marshall's back, Black surrounds our lives. It is a color to simply describe some of our favorite things, but it also evokes a deeper sentiment about the incredible people who helped change the world and a community that continues to grow and survive. Stunningly illustrated by Caldecott Honoree and Coretta Scott King Award winner Ekua Holmes, Black Is a Rainbow Color is a sweeping celebration told through debut author Angela Joy’s rhythmically captivating and unforgettable words." -- publisher

Beautiful Life

Brown Baby Lullaby

2020

by Tameka Fryer. Brown and A. G. Ford

"This #OwnVoices lyrical bedtime picture book is a must-have for every sweet brown baby. From sunset to bedtime, two brown-skinned parents lovingly care for their beautiful brown baby: first, they play outside, then it is time for dinner and a bath, and finally a warm snuggle before bed. With Spanish words sprinkled throughout and featuring warm art by New York Times–bestselling and NAACP-Award–winning illustrator AG Ford, Brown Baby Lullaby is the perfect new baby or baby shower gift." -- publisher

Beautiful Life

David Jumps In

2020

by Alan Woo and Katty Maurey

"It is David's first day at his brand-new school. He doesn't know anyone. At recess, he stands alone and watches the other children enjoying their activities on the playground, from practicing soccer moves and climbing monkey bars to playing hopscotch and daydreaming in the grass. Bundled deep inside David's pocket is a string of rubber bands, knotted and ready for a game of elastic skip. But will anyone want to try that game? he wonders. Will anyone want to play with him? With simple, lyrical free verse, Alan Woo echoes the singsong of schoolyard games to draw readers into the deeper levels of this lovely and poignant picture book story. Exploring the themes of friendship, diversity, belonging and inclusion, the book also celebrates David's self-acceptance and comfort with his own unique identity. With roots in ancient China, David's jump-rope game --- called elastic skip in the story, but known by many different names --- is a symbol for multicultural connections, linking David and his new schoolmates through the sharing of his background." -- publisher

Any Child

Don’t Feed the Coos!

2020

by Jonathan Stutzman and Heather Fox

"An unforgettable, hilarious new picture book about a girl who must escape a flock of insatiable pigeons, perfect for fans of Dragons Love Tacos and Mo Willems's Pigeon series. When you see a coo, you will be tempted to give it a treat. Coos are adorable, peaceful, kind of silly. But DON'T FEED THE COO! If you feed one, they will ALL come . . . So begins Don't the Feed the Coos, a cautionary tale from the duo who brought you Llama Destroys the World. With his signature wit, Jonathan details all of the awful things that will happen should you feed one of the birds. (For example, they will thank you in "coo poos.") And Heather brings the words to life with fun and flair in a slightly-different-but-equally-appealing style to her Llama. Get ready to laugh out loud at this delightful and delirious cautionary tale, be it at storytime or bedtime. These pigeons are persistent!" -- publisher

Any Child

Everyone’s Awake

2020

by Colin Meloy and Shawn Harris

"A silly and sublime bedtime book from the New York Times bestselling children's book author Colin Meloy. Giggle your way to sweet and silly dreams! A simple goodnight routine turns marvelously madcap in this cleverly rhymed picture book. Instead of settling down to sleep, Dad bakes bread, Mom fixes the roof, and Grandma plays cards with a ghost. And between the dog, the cat, Sister, and Brother, there's at least three different wars being waged! A modern classic perfect for read-aloud fun and bedtime alike." -- publisher

Any Child

Many of the cover images on this site are from Google Books.
Using Tiny Framework Log in

STAY UP-TO-DATE ABOUT TRENDS IN MULTICULTURAL PICTURE BOOKS!

Sign up for our newsletter and get a FREE

color poster of our unique picture book categories