Skip to content

Search the Collection

Our collection of picture books featuring Black and Indigenous people and People of Color (BIPOC) is available to the public. *Inclusion of a title in the collection DOES NOT EQUAL a recommendation.* Click here for more on book evaluation.


COVID-19 Info: Currently, our collection is only available via Interlibrary Loan (ILL). However, we appreciate your patience as these services are still limited and you may find inactive links to the Bates Library Catalog and MARC record on certain book pages.

Find titles using a keyword search below (e.g. adoption, birthday, holidays, etc.), or by selecting one or a combination of filters on the lefthand sidebar below.

First time here? Start here!

26 matching books

Show Filters

Good Dream Dragon

2022

by Jacky Davis and Courtney Dawson

"Good Dream Dragon comes to the rescue in easing a child’s bedtime fears in this magical story featuring a nonbinary child.  When a young child is afraid to go to sleep, they call on the Good Dream Dragon to help lead the way. Together, the pair race past comets as they travel through the night galaxy, making their way to the magical world of Dreamland.  This soothing bedtime story celebrates imagination as a way to help alleviate a child’s bedtime jitters. It is a gentle reminder to children that comfort is always within reach.  " -- publisher

Any Child

ABC of Gender Identity

2021

by Devika Dalal

"An A-Z of gender identities for kids age 5+ to help educate young readers on gender diversity. Gender identity is an important part of who we are, and how we express ourselves in the world. This bright and playful A - Z book is an introduction to 26 different genders, accompanying young readers as they explore and discover their authentic selves. With simple explanations, a helpful guide for adults by Dr. Michele Angello, and a quirky cast of illustrated characters, this is the perfect book for learning about gender diversity with children age 5+. An illustrated A-Z providing an age-appropriate introduction to 26 gender identities, from A for Agender to G for Gender Fluid and U for Ungender. The book also includes further resources for parents, with guidance on terminology and questions to aid discussion with children." -- publisher

Incidental Informational

Ho’onani

2019

by Heather Gale and Mika Song

"An empowering celebration of identity, acceptance and Hawaiian culture based on the true story of a young girl in Hawai'i who dreams of leading the boys-only hula troupe at her school. Ho'onani feels in-between. She doesn't see herself as wahine (girl) OR kane (boy). She's happy to be in the middle. But not everyone sees it that way. When Ho'onani finds out that there will be a school performance of a traditional kane hula chant, she wants to be part of it. But can a girl really lead the all-male troupe? Ho'onani has to try..."--

Beautiful Life Biography

The GayBCs

2019

by M.L. Webb

"A playdate extravaganza transforms into a celebration of friendship, love, and identity as four friends sashay out of all the closets, dress up in a wardrobe fit for kings and queens, and discover the wonder of imagination. From A is for Ally to F is for Family to Q is for Queer, debut author/illustrator M. L. Webb’s bright illustrations and lively, inclusive poems delight in the beauty of embracing one’s truest self. A glossary in the back offers opportunity for further discussion of terms and identities. The GayBCs is perfect for fans of A Is for Activist and Feminist Baby—showing kids and adults alike that every identity is worthy of being celebrated." -- publisher

Incidental

Many of the cover images on this site are from Google Books.
Using Tiny Framework Log in