Skip to content

Search the Collection

Our collection of picture books featuring Black and Indigenous people and People of Color (BIPOC) is available to the public. *Inclusion of a title in the collection DOES NOT EQUAL a recommendation.* Click here for more on book evaluation.


COVID-19 Info: Currently, our collection is only available via Interlibrary Loan (ILL). However, we appreciate your patience as these services are still limited and you may find inactive links to the Bates Library Catalog and MARC record on certain book pages.

Find titles using a keyword search below (e.g. adoption, birthday, holidays, etc.), or by selecting one or a combination of filters on the lefthand sidebar below.

First time here? Start here!

4 matching books

Show Filters

No Voice Too Small

2020

by Jeanette Bradley, Keila V. Dawson and Lindsay H. Metcalf

"Fans of We Rise, We Resist, We Raise Our Voices will love meeting fourteen young activists who have stepped up to make change in their community and the United States. Mari Copeny demanded clean water in Flint. Jazz Jennings insisted, as a transgirl, on playing soccer with the girls’ team. From Viridiana Sanchez Santos’s quinceañera demonstration against anti-immigrant policy to Zach Wahls’s moving declaration that his two moms and he were a family like any other, No Voice Too Small celebrates the young people who know how to be the change they seek. Fourteen poems honor these young activists. Featuring poems by Lesléa Newman, Traci Sorell, and Nikki Grimes. Additional text goes into detail about each youth activist’s life and how readers can get involved." -- publisher

Biography Incidental

Iqbal and His Ingenious Idea

2018

by Elizabeth Suneby and Rebecca Green

It's monsoon season in Bangladesh, and that means Iqbal's mother must cook indoors over an open flame, even though the smoke is making her and the family sick. When Iqbal learns about the district science fair, with the theme of sustainability, he is determined to win first prize. With the cash reward, he can buy a pipe stove that draws smoke out of the house. Then Iqbal is struck with an ingenious idea! For his science fair project, he will build a cook stove that doesn't produce smoke. He researches solar cookers and finds the winning design - one that harnesses the sun's energy and do away with those harmful fumes. But the competition at the science fair is fierce - will Iqbal bring home the prize? Award-winning author Elizabeth Suneby offers a child-centered look at a global health problem that affects more than three billion people. |cProvided by publisher

Any Child Informational

Many of the cover images on this site are from Google Books.
Using Tiny Framework Log in