Skip to content

Search the Collection

Our collection of picture books featuring Black and Indigenous people and People of Color (BIPOC) is available to the public. *Inclusion of a title in the collection DOES NOT EQUAL a recommendation.* Click here for more on book evaluation.


COVID-19 Info: Currently, our collection is only available via Interlibrary Loan (ILL). However, we appreciate your patience as these services are still limited and you may find inactive links to the Bates Library Catalog and MARC record on certain book pages.

Find titles using a keyword search below (e.g. adoption, birthday, holidays, etc.), or by selecting one or a combination of filters on the lefthand sidebar below.

First time here? Start here!

206 matching books

Show Filters
x

Filter Results

Clear filters

Genres

Cross Group Sub

Immigration

LOVE

2021

by Corrinne Averiss and Kirsti Beautyman

"Tess loves her family, but when she has to leave for the first day of school, she is worried that the love might not stretch that far. An uplifing picture book, bringing comfort to children who are going to school for the first time, have separation anxiety, have lost a close family member, or are dealing with parental divorce. Funny, emotional, and uplifting picture book about separation and love, to help children understand their emotions. Everyone loves everyone in Tess’s house, but when Tess has to leave for school for the very first time, she is worried that her family’s love might not stretch that far. Mom explains that love is like a string, it connects people together even when they are far away. At school Tess notices that all the children have strings! Some are new, some are old, some stretch a long way, and some even stretch right up into the sky. But what happens when a string breaks? Love is the third in a trio of feel-good picture books from author Corrinne Averiss (Joy (2018), Hope (2019)) - a pure delight from start to finish. A wonderful story that subtly tackles difficult topics of death, grief, separation, and overcoming anxiety." -- publisher

Any Child Cross Group

Sprouting Wings

2021

by Shari Becker, Louisa Jaggar and Floyd Cooper

"The inspirational and true story of James Herman Banning, the first African American pilot to fly across the country, comes to life in this picture book biography perfect for fans of Hidden Figures and Little Leaders. Includes art from a Coretta Scott King award-winning illustrator. James Herman Banning always dreamed of touching the sky. But how could a farm boy from Oklahoma find a plane? And how would he learn to fly it? None of the other pilots looked like him. In a journey that would span 3,300 miles, take twenty-one days, and inspire a nation, James Herman Banning proved that you can’t put barriers on dreams. Louisa Jaggar incorporates over seven years of research, including Banning’s own writings and an interview with the aviator’s great-nephew. She teams up with cowriter Shari Becker and award-winning illustrator Floyd Cooper to capture Banning’s historic flight across the United States." -- publisher

Biography Cross Group

Cat Ladies

2020

by Susi Schaefer

"This witty picture book explores the loving bond between cats and their humans Princess has four ladies. Some cats say that’s too many, but there’s no such thing! Taking care of all these ladies can be a lot of work, but Princess doesn’t mind. She knows how to keep them happy with grooming, cuddling, and all the treats they want. Princess has everything under control until, one day, a mysterious stray appears. There’s a little girl in Princess’s favorite napping spot, surrounded by her ladies! Princess is overwhelmed with jealousy, and she leaves the house in a huff. But when Princess runs into trouble, the stray comes to her rescue. Maybe the stray can fit in with Princess and her ladies after all. Of course, she’ll need proper training first!" -- publisher

Cross Group Incidental

Colin Kaepernick

2020

by Blake Hoena and Sam LeDoyen

"This graphic biography shows readers the moments that have defined Colin Kaepernick’s life as a quarterback and an activist. His talent and determination made him a college football success and brought him to the National Football League. As a quarterback for the San Francisco 49ers, he led his team to multiple playoffs and even competed in the Super Bowl. When outrage over violence against African Americans became a national movement, Kaepernick joined the protests. His decision cost him his career in football, but he gained a voice heard worldwide." -- publisher

Biography Cross Group

Dot. Unplugged

2020

by Candlewick Press, Randi Zuckerberg and The Jim Henson Company

"Can Dot and her family make it through a rainy day without any tech? It’s pouring rain, and the power’s gone out at Dot’s house. Should they take it as a challenge to honor the National Day of Unplugging? Playing outside is out of the question, and so is using the many devices Dot is accustomed to. But what might the basement hold? Dot, her friend Hal, Mom, Dad, and Scratch find lots of exciting stuff, including an old spinner game. It turns out it’s super fun to watch Dad do charades, Mom speed-sculpt from clay, Hal tweet-sing a song, and Dot hunt for something surprising. Their improvised game keeps them so entertained, they just might decide to stay unplugged a bit longer!" -- publisher

Any Child Cross Group

Frog Boots

2020

by Jill Esbaum and Joshua Heinsz

"There’s only one thing Dylan wants: frog boots! But what happens when this little boy discovers they’re meant for . . . girls? School shopping is no fun for Dylan—until he spots a pair of boots decorated with poison-dart frogs. They’re so cool that he even wears them to bed, where he discovers they glow in the dark! He can’t wait to wear them to class. But before he can show them off in circle time, a kid exclaims: “Ms. Kory, that boy’s wearing girl boots.” And, suddenly, when everyone’s laughing at him, the boots don’t seem so wonderful anymore. Will he ever want to wear them again? A timely story about embracing what you love, staying true to yourself, and defying stereotypes." -- publisher

Any Child Cross Group

It’s Just a Plant

2020

by Ricardo Cortés

"It's Just a Plant is a children's book that follows the journey of a young girl as she learns about the marijuana plant from a cast of characters including her parents, a local farmer, a doctor, and a police officer. Marijuana can be hard to talk about. Many parents have tried it, millions use it, and most feel awkward about disclosing such histories (often ducking the question), for fear that telling kids the truth might encourage them to experiment too. Meanwhile, the "drug facts" children learn in school can be more frightening than educational, blaming pot for everything from teenage pregnancy to terrorism. A child's first awareness of drugs should come from a better source. It's Just a Plant is a story for parents who want to discuss the complexities of pot with their kids in a thoughtful, fact-oriented manner. The book also features an afterword by Marsha Rosenbaum, PhD, founder of the Safety First Project for drug education and director emerita of the San Francisco office of the Drug Policy Alliance, the nation's leading organization working to end the war on drugs." -- publisher

Cross Group Informational

Jesse Owens

2020

by Blake Hoena and David Shephard

"In 1936, Adolf Hitler attempted to make the Olympic Games in Berlin, Germany, a showcase of Nazi superiority with a new stadium and the first television broadcast of the Games. He didn't account for African-American sprinter and long jumper James Cleveland "Jesse" Owens, who smashed records throughout his track and field career. Owens turned Hitler's Olympic vision on its head by winning four gold medals in the 100m, 200m, 4x100m relay and long jump. Along the way, he broke or equaled nine Olympic records and set three world records. In graphic nonfiction style, this biography takes readers from Owens's early life to his historic athletic triumphs." -- publisher

Biography Cross Group

Many of the cover images on this site are from Google Books.
Using Tiny Framework Log in

STAY UP-TO-DATE ABOUT TRENDS IN MULTICULTURAL PICTURE BOOKS!

Sign up for our newsletter and get a FREE

color poster of our unique picture book categories