Skip to content

Search the Collection

Our collection of picture books featuring Black and Indigenous people and People of Color (BIPOC) is available to the public. *Inclusion of a title in the collection DOES NOT EQUAL a recommendation.* Click here for more on book evaluation.


COVID-19 Info: Currently, our collection is only available via Interlibrary Loan (ILL). However, we appreciate your patience as these services are still limited and you may find inactive links to the Bates Library Catalog and MARC record on certain book pages.

Find titles using a keyword search below (e.g. adoption, birthday, holidays, etc.), or by selecting one or a combination of filters on the lefthand sidebar below.

First time here? Start here!

261 matching books

Show Filters
x

Filter Results

Clear filters

Genres

Cross Group Sub

Immigration

Boxitects

2020

by Kim Smith

"Meg is a brilliant and creative boxitect. She loves impressing her teacher and classmates with what she makes out of boxes. But there’s a new kid at Maker School: Simone. Simone is good at everything, and worst of all, she’s a boxitect too. When the annual Maker Match is held, Meg and Simone are paired as a team but can’t seem to stop arguing. When their extraordinary project turns into a huge disaster, they must find a way to join creative forces, lift each other up, and work together."--publisher

Any Child Cross Group

Child of the Universe

2020

by Ray Jayawardhana and Raúl Colón

"Perfect for fans of The Wonderful Things You Will Be and That’s Me Loving You, this picture book by a renowned astrophysicist is a lyrical meditation on the preciousness of one child and the vastness of the universe. A lyrical meditation on the preciousness of one child and the vastness of the universe, this gorgeously illustrated picture book shares the immensity of a parent’s love along with the message that we are all connected to the broader cosmos in important and intimate ways. A perfect bedtime read-aloud, Child of the Universe is a book to cherish forever. The author is an astrophysicist who has been fascinated by the universe since he was a child. As a parent, he has developed a new appreciation for the deep connections between billions of years of cosmic evolution and this one tiny human." -- publisher

Any Child

From Nylon to Backpacks

2020

by Cari. Meister and Albert Pinilla

"Do you know how all your favorite things are made? This companion series to "Who Made My Lunch?" follows the journey that common household items make from raw materials to the factory and the store. With clear process explanations and charming illustrations, these books answer the question: who made my stuff? A child wonders where backpacks come from and learns about how nylon is made and woven into fabric, where it is sent to a backpack manufacturer. This illustrated narrative nonfiction book includes a map of what areas manufacture nylon, a glossary, and further resources." -- publisher

Incidental Informational

Green Machine

2020

by Rebecca Donnelly and Christophe Jacques

"From Cats Are a Liquid author Rebecca Donnelly comes a playful nonfiction picture book celebrating innovation in the energy cycle with food waste composting. Call it Peels on Wheels / Or a truck full of yuck: / It's a food scraps collection machine! / It takes all the waste/ (And some slime, and some muck)/ To a place where the garbage goes green. Composting is cool! Celebrate the innovation and science that helps humans transform food waste into green energy. See how food scraps are composted, collected, and processed, transforming trash into biogas and electricity. It’s a green machine! It’s a celebration of sustainability and the important role we humans play in the energy cycle." -- publisher

Informational

Many of the cover images on this site are from Google Books.
Using Tiny Framework Log in

STAY UP-TO-DATE ABOUT TRENDS IN MULTICULTURAL PICTURE BOOKS!

Sign up for our newsletter and get a FREE

color poster of our unique picture book categories