Skip to content

Search the Collection

Our collection of picture books featuring Black and Indigenous people and People of Color (BIPOC) is available to the public. *Inclusion of a title in the collection DOES NOT EQUAL a recommendation.* Click here for more on book evaluation.


Find titles using a keyword search below (e.g. adoption, birthday, holidays, etc.), or by selecting one or a combination of filters on the lefthand sidebar below.

First time here? Start here!

22 matching books

Show Filters
x

Filter Results

Clear filters

Genres

Tribal Affiliation/Homelands

    Cross Group Sub

    Immigration

    Religion

    Character Prominence

    Thank You, Omu!

    2018

    by Oge Mora

    "In this remarkable author-illustrator debut that's perfect for fans of Last Stop on Market Street and Extra Yarn, a generous woman is rewarded by her community. Everyone in the neighborhood dreams of a taste of Omu's delicious stew! One by one, they follow their noses toward the scrumptious scent. And one by one, Omu offers a portion of her meal. Soon the pot is empty. Has she been so generous that she has nothing left for herself? Debut author-illustrator Oge Mora brings to life a heartwarming story of sharing and community in colorful cut-paper designs as luscious as Omu's stew, with an extra serving of love. An author's note explains that "Omu" (pronounced AH-moo) means "queen" in the Igbo language of her parents, but growing up, she used it to mean "Grandma." This book was inspired by the strong female role models in Oge Mora's life." -- publisher

    Any Child Cross Group

    Grand Canyon

    2017

    by Jason Chin

    A river winds through the landscape, eroding the rock for millions of years, shaping a cavity in the ground 277 miles long, as much as 18 miles wide, and more than a mile deep known as ... Grand Canyon. Home to an astonishing variety of plants and animals that live within its walls, Grand Canyon is much more than just a hole in the ground. Follow a father and daughter as they make their way through this wondrous place, discovering life both present and past. Weave in and out of time as perfectly placed die cuts show how a fossil today was a living creature millions of years ago, often in a completely different environment.

    Informational

    Last stop on Market Street

    2015

    by Matt de la Peña and Christian Robinson

    A young boy rides the bus across town with his grandmother and learns to appreciate the beauty in everyday things

    Any Child

    Many of the cover images on this site are from Google Books.
    Using Tiny Framework Log in