Skip to content

Culture and Diversity

2020

by Marie Murray and Hanane Kai

"“You will have opportunities to get to know people who are very different from you.” Culture and Diversity helps kids understand different cultures and build empathy. This children’s book on diversity explains what culture is and how it influences our lives. By learning about traditions, values, and beliefs of people around them, children can build respect and open doors to understanding and friendship. “What other ways can you think of that would make people feel welcome, help you learn about their culture, and share your culture with them?” A glossary and additional resources can be found at the back of the book." -- publisher

Incidental Informational Race/Culture Concepts

Diarou’s Not So Different

2020

by Diarou Bayo, Riley Campbell, Anthony Cooke and Alex Perkins

"Diarou is starting her first week in a new school, in a new country, speaking a new language... and she feels completely alone. She moved to the U.S. from Guinea over the summer and is determined to make friends, but with her limited English, she's having trouble communicating with her classmates. Just when she thinks she might be on her own, she meets another new student who’s struggling too. Can Diarou find a way to connect across language barriers to make a true friend? The authors of this story are part of an innovative program run by Reach Incorporated. Reach develops grade-level readers and capable leaders by preparing teens to serve as tutors and role models for younger students, resulting in improved literacy outcomes for both. Learn more at reachincorporated.org. Books were created in collaboration with Shout Mouse Press. Shout Mouse is a nonprofit writing and publishing house dedicated to amplifying underheard voices. Through writing workshops that lead to professional publication, Shout Mouse empowers writers from marginalized backgrounds to tell their own stories in their own voices and, as published authors, to act as agents of change. Learn more at shoutmousepress.org" -- publisher

Cross Group Race/Culture Concepts

Grandpa Grumps

2020

by Katrina Moore and Xindi Yan

"Daisy's Yeh-Yeh is visiting from China, and try as she might, Daisy can't get her grumpy grandpa to smile! Daisy's Yeh-Yeh is visiting for the first time from China, and Daisy is so excited to meet him! She has big plans for all the fun they'll have together, like tea parties and snow angels, but when Yeh-Yeh arrives, Daisy finds him less jolly than she imagined. Throughout the week, she tries all sorts of things to get him past his grumpiness. Will she be able to make him smile before he goes home? Kids will love this funny and heartwarming story about overcoming cultural differences and connecting across generations!" -- publisher

Race/Culture Concepts

Just Like Me

2020

by Vanessa Brantley-Newton

"An ode to the girl with scrapes on her knees and flowers in her hair, and every girl in between, this exquisite treasury will appeal to readers of Dear Girl and I Am Enough and have kids poring over it to find a poem that’s just for them. From Vanessa Brantley-Newton, the author of Grandma’s Purse, comes a collection of poetry filled with engaging mini-stories about girls of all kinds: girls who feel happy, sad, scared, powerful; girls who love their bodies and girls who don’t; country girls, city girls; girls who love their mother and girls who wish they had a father. With bright portraits in Vanessa’s signature style of vibrant colors and unique patterns and fabrics, this book invites readers to find themselves and each other within its pages." -- publisher

Incidental Race/Culture Concepts

Love the Skin You’re In Too

2020

by Joseline J. Hardrick and Gayanjali Munasinghe

"If you liked my book for little girls, "Love the Skin You're In" ©, then you need to get this book for the little boy in your life. Every little boy should be told that he is beautiful and to love the skin he's in too! ♥ Children are born beautiful, period. Our shades, shapes, hair texture, and everything else about us reflect our rich human heritage and history. This picture book is a love poem to that beauty, made especially for little boys!" -- publisher

Race/Culture Concepts

Many of the cover images on this site are from Google Books.
Using Tiny Framework Log in