Skip to content

I Is for Immigrants

2021

by Selina Alko

"An alphabet picture book about multiculturalism and how immigrants enrich our communities. What do African dance, samosas, and Japanese gardens have in common? They are all gifts the United States received from immigrants: the vibrant, multi-faceted people who share their heritage and traditions to enrich the fabric of our daily lives. From Jewish delis to bagpipes, bodegas and Zen Buddhism, this is a celebration of immigrants: our neighbors, our friends. This picture book companion to the popular B Is for Brooklyn weaves together a multitude of immigrant experiences in a concise, joyful package. For readers of Finding Kindness and Dreamers." -- publisher

Beautiful Life

The Case for Loving

2015

by Selina Alko and Sean Qualls

Imagine not being able to marry the person you loved, just because they were of a race different from your own. This is the story of one brave family: Mildred Loving, Richard Perry Loving, and their three children. It is the story of how Mildred and Richard fell in love, and got married in Washington D.C. When they moved back to their hometown in Virginia, they were arrested for violating that state's law against interracial marriage. The Lovings refused to allow their children to get the message that their parents' love was wrong and so they fought the unfair law, taking their case all the way to the Supreme Court

Cross Group Oppression & Resilience

Many of the cover images on this site are from Google Books.
Using Tiny Framework Log in